Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Sky+ box advice requested

This is a discussion on Sky+ box advice requested within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi folks, newbie here with a request for some advice if possible. We are now on our second Sky+ box ...

Mr&MrsH is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Thanks

Sky+ box advice requested

Hi folks, newbie here with a request for some advice if possible.

We are now on our second Sky+ box in a matter of 18 months. The first one would freeze and refuse to obey the controller and kept telling me the batteries needed replacing. This was changed after 7 months for a 'new' box - the engineer telling me it was faulty and he was 'seeing a lot with this problem'.

This 'new' box has now playing up for months (first reported to Sky 3 months after being installed). We now have problems with standby mode - it freezes and then won't turn on or off either by handset or manually. It has been 'reset' by Sky countless times and I have done the reboot thing myself countless times. It then works for a while but plays up again. I've lost all my programmes 3 times and I don't want to do that again if poss.

Latest thing is it won't let me play back my recordings. Just won't budge from the info screen in the planner. You can scroll to viewer defined time/end of programme thing but it won't play back. Back up button doesn't then work and you can only exit by hitting the TV Guide key. It records them normally as they are in the planner and the record light shows but that's it.