Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Sky+ will not turn on

    This is a discussion on Sky+ will not turn on within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi, I have just got back after a few day away and tried to turn on my + box. It ...

    1. #1
      robbersdog's Avatar
      robbersdog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 020
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky+ will not turn on

      Hi, I have just got back after a few day away and tried to turn on my + box. It is not recognising the remote and will not turn on using the button on the front. It is a pace box (don't know what version.) It has the card on the left under a flap and 6 buttons just under the green circle. Hope someone can help.......


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Sky+ will not turn on

      Unplug it from the mains for 5 minutes or so and try again.
      Mine was behaving like this the other day after a mains brown out.


    4. #3
      robbersdog's Avatar
      robbersdog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 020
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ will not turn on

      Tried that one, have spoken to sky......a very polite indian gentleman who after finding out that if I press tv then sky on my remote it will not work told me I would have to get an engineer out at the cost of 65.00. I see people talk about re-setting the box and other things. But as this is the 1st time the box has played up 5 am at a loss as to what to try........

    5. #4
      robbersdog's Avatar
      robbersdog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 020
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ will not turn on

      Tried that one, have spoken to sky......a very polite indian gentleman who after finding out that if I press tv then sky on my remote it will not work told me I would have to get an engineer out at the cost of 65.00. I see people talk about re-setting the box and other things. But as this is the 1st time the box has played up 5 am at a loss as to what to try........btw there was a power supply interuption while I was away as well !!

    6. #5
      tdadyslexia's Avatar
      tdadyslexia is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01642
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      Middlesbrough
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ will not turn on

      There could have been a power spike and fride your Box. If that is the case you will need a new box.
      Please Help Me To Save Lives
      Kind Regards, Gary Lambert

    7. #6
      robbersdog's Avatar
      robbersdog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 020
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ will not turn on

      Well my original +box is going to the big graveyard in the sky (). I have been donated a new(ish) Thomson 127k148 by a mate. Well ok this is only part of the story, he gave me his Amstrad box first but it would not record and would not pause or rewind live tv. So back it went and in came the 2 month old Thomson, guess what that will not record or rewind either. I keep getting "recording interupted" and the only way you can get back to live tv is to press the stop button. I can't believe 2 boxes have the same problem!!
      Do I have to register my card with sky for the new box? Is there anything I need to do to the new box?
      Have looked at the signal settings and they are as follows:-
      Input 1 Signal Strength is about 70%
      Quality is the same.
      Input 2 signal Strength is 50%
      Quality is 70%
      Lock on both is ok
      Network ID is 0001
      Transport stream is 07d4
      As this box came from sky and is only 2 months old will they fix it under the guarantee do you think or could it be be a cable problem the LNB and cable are about 2 years old.
      Ant help would be good as my mate only has his hd box left and he seems to be loath to part with that one.......

    8. #7
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky+ will not turn on

      i think you will have to phone sky and "Pair" you card with the box, then the features should work

    9. #8
      robbersdog's Avatar
      robbersdog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 020
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ will not turn on

      Did that last night, left the box powered off all day and now everything seems to be ok !!

    10. #9
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION