Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Possible cabling issue for Sky+

    This is a discussion on Possible cabling issue for Sky+ within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi all and forgive me if this doesn't make sense for my first post. I currently have a standard sky ...

    1. #1
      Reddwarfposse5's Avatar
      Reddwarfposse5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01241
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Possible cabling issue for Sky+

      Hi all and forgive me if this doesn't make sense for my first post.

      I currently have a standard sky box and dish with a single lnb and was considering getting sky+. However, i have my current sky cable coming into a wall box in the living room and realise that for full Sky+ functionality i need 2 cables coming in. Is there any way the cable can be split so that i don't simply have another cable coming in through the wall? I assume Sky engineers would do the mimimum install required?

      Thanks in advance.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,049
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Possible cabling issue for Sky+

      Nope the cable cannot be split and your going to need another cable added. Is the current cable being run inside the wall cavity or outside of the house and into the room?
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    4. #3
      Reddwarfposse5's Avatar
      Reddwarfposse5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01241
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Possible cabling issue for Sky+

      Hi and thanks for the reply. The cable runs over the house and down the outside wall, hidden behind the drainpipe. It then comes in under the floor and is brought up into the cavity to the wall plate. Seemed like a good idea at the time lol.

    5. #4
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,049
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Possible cabling issue for Sky+

      The only option you have is run another cable via the same run, down the drainpipe and through the wall to the face plate.

      Then all you have to do is change the face plate for a 2 output and away you go.

      Your not going to get it down the cavity thats for sure.

      Regards.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    6. #5
      Reddwarfposse5's Avatar
      Reddwarfposse5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01241
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Possible cabling issue for Sky+

      Thanks for the advice. Might give it a miss or come up with another idea. I'm sure to get to the wall plate, i'd need to go under the floor and i'm not lifting my flooring lol.

    7. #6
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,049
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Possible cabling issue for Sky+

      You might be able to lift the floor but I bet the cable is clipped or capped and your not going to pull that up or feed another down in the cavity.

      The only other option is to run a lenth of trunking down the wall inside your room and use that for both of the cables and mount a new patress and face plate.

      I would just run both cables outside and drill through the wall to the current face plate and change it.

      Regards.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION