Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    sound problem with sky+ recordings

    This is a discussion on sound problem with sky+ recordings within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; When I play back programmes I have recorded on sky + the sound keeps coming and going, does not match ...

    1. #1
      snapperjw's Avatar
      snapperjw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      sound problem with sky+ recordings

      When I play back programmes I have recorded on sky + the sound keeps coming and going, does not match the picture and it seems to be getting worse....

      Help... Any ideas from anyone!!
      SnapperJW
      Max


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      ChrisCornwall's Avatar
      ChrisCornwall is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01606
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Re: sound problem with sky+ recordings

      Sorry I can't help you, but I have started having the same problems. My Sky+ box is just over 3 years old and has always been fine, but in the last few months it has had sound problems on anything recorded from the Movie channels, and now channels such as Bravo do the same whenever I record Gamer TV etc. Basically the sound is ok for about 5-10 seconds, then cuts out for maybe 2 seconds, usually accompanied by a high pitch squark. The obviously ruins the recordings (I tried to record some films about four times and it was the same each time).

      BBC, ITV etc record fine, never had the same problems, we have Robin Hood, Casualty, X Factor on series link and never had any issues at all with the quality (other than the singing )

      Could it be that the box needs some kind of "defrag" or something. Is there any "service menu" that I can enter to do this? The box usually has at least 10-15% free space, and I don't have the "live rewind" feature enabled (or whatever it is called). I was thinking it could be to do with the presumably higher bit-rate of the movie channels (with the 5.1 sound etc) causing the box to struggle, but that doesn't explain Bravo which generally looks to be worse than BBC/ITV. I'm also pretty sure that when I watch these programmes live the sound problem isn't there, it is only on the recording.

      Thanks!
      Last edited by ChrisCornwall; 25-11-07 at 01:59 PM.

    4. #3
      snapperjw's Avatar
      snapperjw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sound problem with sky+ recordings

      ok thanks for the reply...

      My box is only at 50% capacity but there is a way to defrag the hard drive, go into Services, 4 system setup, then type 01 and press select a secret menu will appear here you can rebuild your planner which can sort out sky+ problems from time to time.... Did actually solve my sound problem but may help you
      SnapperJW
      Max

    5. #4
      ChrisCornwall's Avatar
      ChrisCornwall is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01606
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Re: sound problem with sky+ recordings

      Thanks, I will give it a try... One thing before I do, does "Sky+ Planner Rebuild" erase all of the the existing recordings? I've got quite a few things on "keep" that could do with being watched first... I've noticed that there is also a "Full system reset" option which perhaps formats the disk or something, though maybe I'd then have to run the "New installation" option afterwards to get working again. Does it just go and do it, or is there an "are you sure?" type prompt?

      You've said this *did* solve your problem (planner rebuild), or is that a typo?

      Thanks.

    6. #5
      youravinalarrrf's Avatar
      youravinalarrrf is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: MYBD
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Unlimited Broadband
      Router: Plusnet Hub Zero 2704n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sound problem with sky+ recordings

      These threads may well be worth a read and may also get you a new box if yours is one of those affected and you follow the advice given!

      Sky+ PVR2 Sound is Skipping on Recorded Programmes

      Sky+ Amstrad PVR3 sound is skipping on recorded programmes

      Hope this helps.

    7. #6
      ChrisCornwall's Avatar
      ChrisCornwall is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01606
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs up Re: sound problem with sky+ recordings

      Thanks, it sounds like my problem so I will send an email and see what happens!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION