Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Requirement for phone line

    This is a discussion on Requirement for phone line within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi, I had a SkyPlus box installed a couple of weeks ago and at the moment am using a telephone ...

    1. #1
      Arno's Avatar
      Arno is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Requirement for phone line

      Hi, I had a SkyPlus box installed a couple of weeks ago and at the moment am using a telephone extension lead to connect the box to the BT line. Having search the forum it seems that this is not essential from my point of view to fit a fixed line, which could be done but would look messy and involve a long cable run arount doors etc,unless I want to initiate contact, in which case I can use the extension. I see however that in the bumpf it says I must keep a fixed lead for the first 12 months. I do not have Multiroom.

      Can anyone tell me

      1 The implications of not having a fixed lead from the "12 month" point of view and what is it used for?

      2 Will not having a fixed cable mean problems with receiving the TV service, updates etc.

      Thanks
      Arno


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Requirement for phone line

      If you don't have the box plugged in and get caught by Sky you are breaching the Ts and Cs of your contract. The telephone line is used for interactive services etc and Sky also "call" your sky box now and then to make sure it's there and hasn't been moved.

    4. #3
      youravinalarrrf's Avatar
      youravinalarrrf is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: MYBD
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Unlimited Broadband
      Router: Plusnet Hub Zero 2704n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Requirement for phone line

      It is essential and the installer should have run the extension for you as part of the installation! Get them back to finish the job!

    5. #4
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Requirement for phone line

      Having agreed with the last two posts, it would seem that Sky have changed policy on this subject. My step daughter has just joined sky and obtained a sky+box without a telephone line. Her contract states that if a telephone is not fitted within 6 weeks she is liable to a 25 one off surcharge. I dont know if this is only avaiable to new customers though, i would suspect it is.

    6. #5
      Arno's Avatar
      Arno is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Requirement for phone line

      Many thanks for the info above, much appreciated

      Arno

    7. #6
      reck's Avatar
      reck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Requirement for phone line

      Well when the engineer fitted my box I got a telephone extension for him to use as I didn't have a socket near the sky box. Once he left I removed the cable and it's never been connected since, which was 6 months ago. It seems sky no longer check/send letters out if your box it not connected to the telephone line any more. If I do hear anything in the final 6 months of my contract i'll post here but i'm not expecting to now.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION