Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Rain and my signal

    This is a discussion on Rain and my signal within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hello. Right now I'm really angry. 90% of the time Sky works but it really knows how to pick that ...

    1. #1
      Reddkryten's Avatar
      Reddkryten is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Plus
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Rain and my signal

      Hello.

      Right now I'm really angry. 90% of the time Sky works but it really knows how to pick that 10%

      Last month there was a storm and I couldn't get a signal for an hour, but it was a really bad storm and I would have been more surprised if I did get one. In that case the box was justified, but today it has no excuse.

      Right now I'm recording something on the performance channel and the signal keeps dropping out. There is a slight drizzle of rain!!! I could easily walk outside without a coat, but could the box get a signal, Noooo!

      For some reason BBC and Sky One are fine but not Performance, does that channel use a weaker signal or something?

      Is there any way to fix this? I'm mostly happy with Sky, so I don't want to get into bigger dishes, gold cables or tracking satellites using laser beams. Would an umbrella over the dish work?

      Failing that, is there any way to hide the fact that I'm recording, because I swear that box noticed that I was recording and decided to lose the signal just to annoy me.

      Thanks in advance for any help or tips on how to make the box feel pain.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      greyrider's Avatar
      greyrider is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: O2
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Somewhere
      Posts
      295
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Rain and my signal

      You need to get your dish alignment checked if rain knocks the signal out as well as you're experiencing drop outs.
      One thing to look at yourself, I was losing a few channels, gradually getting worse, on tuner 1, sorted by disconnecting the coax and refitting the f connector.

    4. #3
      Reddkryten's Avatar
      Reddkryten is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Plus
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Rain and my signal

      So do you think it is the dish alignment or the coaxial cable?

      It usually has no problem working in the rain,I think it is either that channel or my box is a sadist.

    5. #4
      pootsey's Avatar
      pootsey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bicester
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Rain and my signal

      I don't know about sky+ and its GUI but with a normal sky box you can check signal strength in the services part of the guide, press the services button to check.

      Its worth a look as an early indication if your dish needs realigned

    6. #5
      sajid78's Avatar
      sajid78 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Rain and my signal

      I can sympathise with the original poster, the same thing happens to me, so I got an engineer coming around to realign the dish.

    7. #6
      Reddkryten's Avatar
      Reddkryten is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Plus
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Rain and my signal

      So the general consensus is that I need to get the dish realigned.

      Is there any way for me to realign the dish myself, long story but I can't get a sky technician out.

    8. #7
      greyrider's Avatar
      greyrider is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: O2
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Somewhere
      Posts
      295
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Rain and my signal


    9. #8
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Rain and my signal

      Bear in mind that the sat signal travels two ways. Up to the sat and back down. Although the uplink dishes are bigger, they do also suffer from rain fade in very bad weather. If you lose channels consistently everytime it rains then yes, your dish alignment may be out and a signal level check should confirm this (though the signal level check only checks one particular transponder). But if its only intermittent it could be a provider issue.

    10. #9
      terrorvis's Avatar
      terrorvis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Draytek 2830n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      West Yorks
      Posts
      107
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Rain and my signal

      Performance is on Eurobird, rather than Astra. If my memory serves, eurobird is slightly off alignment to the rest of the satellites. (28.5 degrees rather than 28.2) It may only be 0.3 degrees from ground level, but thats a few hundred (thousand?) miles difference in space.

      As a result eurobird can be weaker in general. However if everything on Astra is working fine, then I wouldn't move the dish and centre it on eurobird as this would mean more channels would be effected by the same issue, as most channels are on Astra.

      To be honest, if you want a more reliable signal, then you'll need a bigger dish.

    11. #10
      tdadyslexia's Avatar
      tdadyslexia is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01642
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      Middlesbrough
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Rain and my signal

      Like Reddkryten 90% of the time Sky works but it really knows how to pick that 10%

      I have had 3 new transponders on the dish. I have 2 Sky+ Boxs and both of them go off at the same time. I am 5 flors up.
      Please Help Me To Save Lives
      Kind Regards, Gary Lambert

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION