Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Sky+ Cabling help...

    This is a discussion on Sky+ Cabling help... within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Myself and my brother are installing Sky+ into my house, as my brother just got Sky HD and he is ...

    1. #1
      sterankin's Avatar
      sterankin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky+ Cabling help...

      Myself and my brother are installing Sky+ into my house, as my brother just got Sky HD and he is giving me his sky+ box! yay I have bought a quad LNB off ebay and my brother has some RG59/BU Cable (75 ohms) which he is going to use to link the dish to the Sky+ box.

      It is about 15metres from the dish to the box. Is this cable any good and will the signal strength be ok? I know it is for cctv use but will it be ok for SKY+? I have read some conflicting reports on the net and I am hoping an expert here can clear matters up before I shell out more for some new cable...Is it worth trying the RG59?

      Thanks
      Steven


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky+ Cabling help...

      tbh I have no idea. Either wait for some one more knowledgeable or...

      Why not do a dummy run, ie connect both ends but not tack the cable to the wall? You would then see if the cable works, and how good the quality is.

      Other threads recommend:

      I bought 10 metres of dual cable the best you can get from Maplins 2.50 a metre
      Would save running 2 cables?
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      sterankin's Avatar
      sterankin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ Cabling help...

      Thanks - my brother wants to do a dummy run like you said, basically just connect the ends to see how it works out - signal strength and quality. Personally, I like to do things properly But if an expert can tell me here that the RG59B/U is sufficient for a 15m run then I will be happy with that.

      I just dont want to have to install this and then it cutting out in a weeks time or lose picture quality....

      also I can't wait to get Sky+ have been wanting it for ages but financially have never been able to justify it (until now!)

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky+ Cabling help...

      If you don't want to wait for an answer, dig out the Yellow Pages or surf the net for a local Satellite installer and ask re the cable.

      It was well worth the wait, it changes the way you watch TV.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    6. #5
      youravinalarrrf's Avatar
      youravinalarrrf is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: MYBD
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Unlimited Broadband
      Router: Plusnet Hub Zero 2704n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ Cabling help...


    7. #6
      terrorvis's Avatar
      terrorvis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Draytek 2830n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      West Yorks
      Posts
      107
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ Cabling help...

      I can't remember off the top of my head, but is RG59 shielded? I'm wondering whether the 'U' stands for unshielded.

      If you use unshielded then the signal levels might be ok, but you may not lock on to the satellite, or it will cause interference on screen.

      15meters is not a problem (we have a dish here running on roughly 70 meters) but you will need to use the right stuff. The cable NewsreadeR pointed out would be a good choice.

      Maplin > Twin Satellite Coax Cable
      Last edited by terrorvis; 20-11-07 at 01:12 PM. Reason: spelling

    8. #7
      sterankin's Avatar
      sterankin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ Cabling help...

      Thanks for the info, I did see this on the Maplin website as youravinalarrrf pointed out:

      RG59B/U 75Ω Coax Cable

      Q) Is this cable suitable for connecting an LNB to a Satellite rxer?? Rgds. Len. - Len Woolley
      A) Yes it is suitable

      Not that I dont trust Maplins website or anything but just wanted a second opinion

      My brother is just off the phone and he said sure why not give it a whirl tomorrow night and see what kind of signal we get, as the cable he has is free and he has loads of it... sure will let you know how it goes (for future reference!).

    9. #8
      sterankin's Avatar
      sterankin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ Cabling help...

      Just an FYI - we installed the RG59B/U 75Ω Coax Cable from the dish to the freeview box, was only about 10 - 12 metres. Signal strength was nearly full and quality was about three quarters. Seems to be working great so at least saved a good bit of

      Sky+ for 8 all in (for the LNB) - bargain!

    10. #9
      terrorvis's Avatar
      terrorvis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Draytek 2830n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      West Yorks
      Posts
      107
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ Cabling help...

      Glad to hear it all turned out good for you.

    11. #10
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky+ Cabling help...

      Quote Originally Posted by terrorvis View Post
      I can't remember off the top of my head, but is RG59 shielded? I'm wondering whether the 'U' stands for unshielded.

      If you use unshielded then the signal levels might be ok, but you may not lock on to the satellite, or it will cause interference on screen.

      15meters is not a problem (we have a dish here running on roughly 70 meters) but you will need to use the right stuff. The cable NewsreadeR pointed out would be a good choice.

      Maplin > Twin Satellite Coax Cable
      All coax is shielded. The quality of the shielding certainly varies though!
      Some coax is double shielded, but the big difference is in what seperates the core from the outer shielding, the dielectric. The cheaper cables will simply use a cheap plastic which is pretty much hollow, and is known as air core. The dielectric determines the impedance along with the distance between the core and shield. More expensive cables use more expensive dielectrics. Air core cables impedance changes dramatically if you get water into the dieletric. If you go for cheap cable make sure its sealed and the cable can't rub up against anything in the wind.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION