Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Wierd Sky+ recording problem

    This is a discussion on Wierd Sky+ recording problem within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Just found this site, loads of useful stuff here! However, can anyone help me with a recording problem. If I ...

    1. #1
      Blowpipe's Avatar
      Blowpipe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wierd Sky+ recording problem

      Just found this site, loads of useful stuff here!

      However, can anyone help me with a recording problem.

      If I set the planner to record a programme, it later comes up as 'failed'. If I press the instant recording button, it will record but all other channels come up as 'No satellite signal recieved'. I can still view the programme I'm recording, though!

      Any ideas?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Spongebob's Avatar
      Spongebob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01538
      Broadband ISP: Orange
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      Leek
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wierd Sky+ recording problem

      sounds like a similar problem to mine bud. i posted a request titled "If you fix this problem you must be a genius"

      take a look at some of the suggestions.

      Just below this Thread

    4. #3
      deicide's Avatar
      deicide is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Barnby Dun
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wierd Sky+ recording problem

      It sounds as if one of your signals has failed. If you look at SERVICES and signal test is one of them locked or does it have no bar.
      The exact same thing happened to me when I had multiroom installed. Basically the installer did a fine job, but broke one of the cables to the old box and I lost one of the signals. I could watch a channel and record it, but not switch the channel (because I only had one signal!)
      The installer fixed it by removing the offending cable and replacing it. Works fine now.

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Wierd Sky+ recording problem

      Quote Originally Posted by Blowpipe View Post
      Just found this site, loads of useful stuff here!

      However, can anyone help me with a recording problem.

      If I set the planner to record a programme, it later comes up as 'failed'. If I press the instant recording button, it will record but all other channels come up as 'No satellite signal recieved'. I can still view the programme I'm recording, though!

      Any ideas?
      It certainly sounds as if you have lost one of the feeds of have a foulty feed on the LNB. Most Sky+ installs have a quad LNB fitted so you may just be able to swap to another output if the LNB is at fault.

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Wierd Sky+ recording problem

      Quote Originally Posted by Blowpipe View Post
      Just found this site, loads of useful stuff here!

      However, can anyone help me with a recording problem.

      If I set the planner to record a programme, it later comes up as 'failed'. If I press the instant recording button, it will record but all other channels come up as 'No satellite signal recieved'. I can still view the programme I'm recording, though!

      Any ideas?
      It certainly sounds as if you have lost one of the feeds of have a faulty feed on the LNB. Most Sky+ installs have a quad LNB fitted so you may just be able to swap to another output if the LNB is at fault.

    7. #6
      Spongebob's Avatar
      Spongebob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01538
      Broadband ISP: Orange
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      Leek
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wierd Sky+ recording problem

      yeh, get a new cable. i just replaced both of mine with dual cable from Maplins 2.50 a metre. all problems have gone.

      Take no notice of the signal test, it tells you if you have or have not got a signal. it does not really tell you if part of the signal is missing as mine was.

    8. #7
      Blowpipe's Avatar
      Blowpipe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wierd Sky+ recording problem

      Many thanks for all the replies, very helpful.

      The LNB was replaced in the summer when the dish was relocated, so that's a new bit of kit.

      I take it from what's been said that the first thing to do is swap the cables around on the LNB; the cabling is a nighmare, I'm a technohalfwit so I don't want to do that unless it's the last resort!!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION