Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    Sky + box but no Sky subscription

    This is a discussion on Sky + box but no Sky subscription within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi guys, Just registered and looking for a bit of info. A work colleague has just donated his Sky+ box ...

    1. #1
      wyzass's Avatar
      wyzass is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0121
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky + box but no Sky subscription

      Hi guys,

      Just registered and looking for a bit of info.

      A work colleague has just donated his Sky+ box to me.

      We have been using an old standard Sky box as a freeview receiver.

      We are currently using cable for our tv, phone, etc.

      We used to be hooked up to Sky - hence the old digi box.

      The question is, can we utilise the record facility without subscribing?

      I have googled this question and there seems to be quite a difference of opinion on whether this is possible or not.

      Thanks for any help you can give.

      Cheers,

      Wyzass.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky + box but no Sky subscription

      afaik you would need the 10 subscription to record, but I may be wrong.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Sky + box but no Sky subscription

      Sky+ functionality is only free for Sky TV subscribers.

      If you use the box just for the free channels, then you must pay Sky 10/month to use Sky+.

    5. #4
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky + box but no Sky subscription

      Quote Originally Posted by Tezcatlipoca View Post
      Sky+ functionality is only free for Sky TV subscribers.

      If you use the box just for the free channels, then you must pay Sky 10/month to use Sky+.
      Just to add you will need a smartcard to enable the Sky+ feature, but you get a few extra channels (free to view) than free to air.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION