Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    amstrad sky plus on standby

    This is a discussion on amstrad sky plus on standby within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Just had sky plus replaced with a new amstrad.Picture has been a bit stop and start recently,but at moment after ...

    1. #1
      andy45uk's Avatar
      andy45uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy amstrad sky plus on standby

      Just had sky plus replaced with a new amstrad.Picture has been a bit stop and start recently,but at moment after a power cut digibox will not switch on,just remains off (red light on).Is there a way to turn on ,,reset or something?

      Andy


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: amstrad sky plus on standby

      You could try a Forced Software Upgrade? Obviously, If there isnt an upgrade available, It will just reinstall the old one.

      To do this, Unplug the power on the Sky+. Hold the "Back Up" button on the Box down, Then at the same time, Plug the power cable in - But dont release the "Back Up" button, You should notice on the TV a screen saying that it is upgrading/updating. If you see that, Then in a short while, It should be up and running again, If not, Then Sky is your best bet, However, They most likely will tell you first to run an upgrade or do a power cycle.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: amstrad sky plus on standby

      I had much the same after a power cut. Following the instructions at the top of page 66 in the Manual fixed it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      andy45uk's Avatar
      andy45uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: amstrad sky plus on standby

      Thanks for the replies.sorry havent got the manual.Could you give me the instructions please?

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: amstrad sky plus on standby

      As PM
      These are the instructions on the page
      1) Make sure the box is in standby(red power light)
      2)Wait 1 minute.
      3)Turn the box off at the mains and wait 1 minute.
      4)Turn the box back on. The power light turns red.
      5)Wait 30 secs, then press the power button
      6)The box comes out of standby and the power light turns green.
      Seems simple, but it worked for me, Hope this helps.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      andy45uk's Avatar
      andy45uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: amstrad sky plus on standby

      Still no luck with Amstrad DRX 280 standby light still on.Rung Sky ,tried the software upgrade with the back up button,no joy.Im covered by Sattelite Assured,I'll ring them tomorrow.Box is barely a month old!
      Andy

    8. #7
      Whoodoo's Avatar
      Whoodoo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashford, Kent
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: amstrad sky plus on standby

      Quote Originally Posted by andy45uk View Post
      Box is barely a month old!
      Andy
      Mines 10 days and has died too, gotta wait 3 days for a replacement

      Any idea on a cause?

    9. #8
      andy45uk's Avatar
      andy45uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: amstrad sky plus on standby

      Dont know.Engineer is coming wednesday to have a look.
      Andy

    10. #9
      andy45uk's Avatar
      andy45uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: amstrad sky plus on standby

      Spoke to engineer on phone.Told him machine is on standby after power cut.He said the power cut has killed it.Very technical!Replacement coming tomoro.
      Andy

    11. #10
      firstandlast's Avatar
      firstandlast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Re: amstrad sky plus on standby

      Hi everyone, I don't know if this will be of benefit for any of you but it works for me.

      If any of you have had your sky + box stuck in standby mode and have tried all the other ways of getting it working again, then try this.

      This will only work if you have already registered your sky + box to allow you to remote record. Otherwise you will just have to wait until a scheduled recording starts that is already in your planner.

      Sign into the Sky website and go to the TV Guide and then TV Listing section.

      Select a TV program (any one on any channel you subscribe to and preferably one that is going to start in about 15 mins time) and click on the link to remote record the program.

      Go back and wait by your sky+ box and you should see the red recording light come on, even though the box is still in standby.

      When the box is recording, press sky on your remote control and the power on button and hey presto the box should come back on.

      I found this solution quite by accident. We've had a number of power cuts over the last few days and the box would not respond when the power came on. Then one of my scheduled recordings started and so I hit the power button and it come back on.

      I hope this helps anyone.
      Paul.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION