Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Sky + Engineer rant!

This is a discussion on Sky + Engineer rant! within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; This is my first time posting on these boards but have been lurking and browsing for a while. Afraid my ...

Rabbitgirl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 020 8303
      Broadband ISP: Sky + with Family Package
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Thanks

Sky + Engineer rant!

This is my first time posting on these boards but have been lurking and browsing for a while.

Afraid my first thread is a rant!!!

I have had Sky+ for a few years now and find that my boxes generally last about 9 months max before the hard drive starts failing. Okay the first time around as in warranty but the replacements are only covered for 90 days so I took out the extra cover.

My most recent box started showing the tell tale signs about two months ago but I could NOT convince customer services to let me have an engineer until last Friday when they said one would be with me between 8am and 1pm on Sunday. At 8am I get a call saying he would be with me between 1pm and 6pm. No, I said I have to go out this afternoon the call is scheduled for before 1pm. The engineer said "I have too many jobs to do before 1pm" so I said "okay, get your supervisor to call me to reschedule". He hangs up but turns up at the house at 9.30! He literally threw a new box into my living room. Took out the old one (didn't even look at it), connected the new one and then told me I would have to ring Sky to get the software installed myself. That I did.