Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Moving Home + Upgrade to Sky+?

    This is a discussion on Moving Home + Upgrade to Sky+? within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi There, I'm currently subscribed to the regular Sky Box and have been for many years. I'm on a special ...

    1. #1
      petermatheson1's Avatar
      petermatheson1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Moving Home + Upgrade to Sky+?

      Hi There,

      I'm currently subscribed to the regular Sky Box and have been for many years.
      I'm on a special deal at the moment for the next few months where my channels package has been discounted - So cannot make good of any sky Leaving deals.

      I've recently moved house and have an installation booked for tomorrow. But i've only recently (last 3 days) realised I'd like to get Sky+ Installed.
      I tried talking on the phone about this and they've told me I'd have to cancel my installation, get a refund for the 40 Moving home, and then book a Sky+ Installation.

      Does anyone think I could chat to the Sky+ Engineer and see if he could do a Sky+ Installation for me under the same installation job, and I maybe give him some extra money for the Dual LMB etc.. parts?
      Then I can call sky up to order a Sky+ Box & get my subscription upgraded.

      I'd rather not have to cancel my install and then wait yet another 2-3 weeks to get Sky+ installed. Plus I don't want to pay 40 for the Moving home installation, and then a few weeks later have to pay 60 for essentially a few extra parts.

      Pete


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Moving Home + Upgrade to Sky+?

      Yep if I were you I'd see if a few quid to the installer to get a quad lnb fitted. Then a trip to ebay for the box (so that you can self install, if you go to sky, they will insist on an install charge again even if you have a quad lnb already!). Then a phone call to sky to pair up the viewing card with the new box and switch on the sky+ functionality.

    4. #3
      petermatheson1's Avatar
      petermatheson1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving Home + Upgrade to Sky+?

      They can use my existing viewing card right? I've used the same card for about 3-4 years now. Not sure if the same card still applies to Sky+ Boxes?

      I've got a friend who sells Sky Boxes for around 80 with larger hard drives fitted - Looks like I'll be going that way then. I didn't realise that I couldn't just buy the Sky+ Box for 99 direct from sky without the installation charge?

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Moving Home + Upgrade to Sky+?

      Yep same card, sky just need to register the card to the new box and activate the sky+ functionality on your account.

      Sky will always insist on the install charge, even for an upgrade from sky+ to hd (which just involves swapping the box!!!!!!).

    6. #5
      petermatheson1's Avatar
      petermatheson1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving Home + Upgrade to Sky+?

      Excellent! Fingers crossed I get a nice sky engineer tomorrow and hope he's kind enough to put in the LMB and extra wiring for Sky+

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Moving Home + Upgrade to Sky+?

      lol - Make sure he don't get into trouble, we have to look after people who do favours
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    8. #7
      petermatheson1's Avatar
      petermatheson1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving Home + Upgrade to Sky+?

      Nope no luck! He said he had another installation booked in straight after so couldn't do a Sky+ Installation. Bit of a shame since its only an adapter and an extra cable

      Looks like I'll have to do it myself! Damn.

      So I just need the Dual LMB and the second Wiring right? lol

    9. #8
      petermatheson1's Avatar
      petermatheson1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving Home + Upgrade to Sky+?

      Damit, While he was leaving I got chatting about LMB's & Wiring Sky+ Myself and he said. "You should have asked, I would have wired it all in for you now!

      But I diiiiiid! Grrrr

      He gave me a Quad LMB, Dual Core Wire and Ends for 20. Not too bad! Will get a friend of mine to do the install

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION