Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Sky+ installed, lost internet!

    This is a discussion on Sky+ installed, lost internet! within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Had my new Sky+ box installed this morning, that works fine. However, i have now lost my internet connection with ...

    1. #1
      rf9rider's Avatar
      rf9rider is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wentworth Street
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky+ installed, lost internet!

      Had my new Sky+ box installed this morning, that works fine.
      However, i have now lost my internet connection with AOL.
      If i unplug the phone line from the Sky+ box, i can get the internet back.
      Any help with this one?

      I have ordered the see, speak and surf package, my activation date for the broadband is 13-6-2007.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Sky+ installed, lost internet!

      The Sky box must be plugged into a microfilter the same as a phone has to be.

    4. #3
      rf9rider's Avatar
      rf9rider is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wentworth Street
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ installed, lost internet!

      The phone line set up hasnt changed from my old box, the engineer just plugged the original line i had going into my old sky box, into the new Sky+ box, and now ive lost my internet connection, or do you mean i need an extra filter with the new Sky+ box?
      It worked perfectly well with my old sky box.
      Thanks for the reply.
      Last edited by rf9rider; 08-06-07 at 03:21 PM.

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Sky+ installed, lost internet!

      There's a small possibility that the Sky+ box is faulty but quite unlikely.

      It could be that the microfilter, wire or connector got damaged. Carefully follow the lead back from the box all the way to whatever socket it is plugged into. Satisfy yourself that it is plugged into a microfilter and there's no obvious wire/connector damage.

      One last thing, not meaning to be rude but I've seen this before: you do have a proper ADSL microfilter not a 2-way splitter?

    6. #5
      rf9rider's Avatar
      rf9rider is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wentworth Street
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ installed, lost internet!

      Using filters from previous set up, as i say, nothings changed, only the new sky box.
      Unplugged the line into old box, plugged it into new sky box, then i lose internet connection.
      My internet connection works fine when i unplug the line from new sky box.
      This is a weird one!

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Sky+ installed, lost internet!

      Then the problem is either (in order of likelihood):
      • an incorrectly fitted, missing or faulty microfilter
      • a cable/connector fault
      • a Sky+ box fault

      The first two are far more likely.

      With your old box plugged in, go to the system test menu and see if you get the box is plugged into the phone message. Could be that the modem in your old box had died and so wasn't impacting the internet connection. Strangely enough, I believe this isn't all that unusual.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION