Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 27 of 27

    Amstrad Sky + (A20B015) Low to No Signal Problem on Input 1

    This is a discussion on Amstrad Sky + (A20B015) Low to No Signal Problem on Input 1 within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew ps how old is your box? Was it a maxtor drive inside? Why not go to ...

    1. #21
      DrProzac's Avatar
      DrProzac is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chelmsford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Amstrad Sky + (A20B015) Low to No Signal Problem on Input 1

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      ps how old is your box? Was it a maxtor drive inside? Why not go to the maniufactuer website and see if the old hard drive is still in warranty.... worth the look as you could get a free replacement and as 40Gb are nolonger commonplace you may get a much bigger replacement.

      That happened when my folks failed. I sent it back to Maxtor and they sent me back a re-manufactured 250Gb drive!!!!!!1
      Box was originaly installed 12th December 2004 (Circuit Board inside was stampled as Amstrad 2003)

      Original Drive I took out was a SEAGATE ST340015ACE

      As on the label it says it's an OEM Drive I doubt I'd get a replacement..?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Amstrad Sky + (A20B015) Low to No Signal Problem on Input 1

      OEM still qualify. I don't think you will be lucky, but worth putting the serial number in:

      Warranty Validation

      just to see.

    4. #23
      DrProzac's Avatar
      DrProzac is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chelmsford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Amstrad Sky + (A20B015) Low to No Signal Problem on Input 1

      Oh well a week on and having the same problems again.

      So looks like I'm going to need to stunp up the cash and get a new box.

      Now should I go for another SKY + Box, or try and go all out for a HD Box?

      Any idea's a good place to get one without paying through the nose?

    5. #24
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Amstrad Sky + (A20B015) Low to No Signal Problem on Input 1

      hmm, that's surprising. first time a new hard drive hasn't fixed the problem.

      Did your drive appear on the recommended list on digispy link as some driv aren't suitable.

      Eitherway you can source a cheap replacement box from ebay, but do expect the price on ebay to soon rise as the free sky+ sub will increase the second hand value.

    6. #25
      DrProzac's Avatar
      DrProzac is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chelmsford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Amstrad Sky + (A20B015) Low to No Signal Problem on Input 1

      Yes it was the smaller 80GB Drive recommended. Although I was admit it wasn't a new drive.

      It had been used before in a PC for about six months for recording Sat stuff from a Dreambox

      So maybe that's the problem?

      I may just go for a cheap ebay box then? Or get sky out for the 65 ?

      Any ideas what sort of box i'd get from Sky? Would it give me anytime?

    7. #26
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Amstrad Sky + (A20B015) Low to No Signal Problem on Input 1

      chances are you'd get a refurb box which probably won't cope with anytime, but you may get lucky.

      Did you do a low level format of the drive before putting it in the sky box? (this can only be done outside of a windows environment using a boot disk off the hard drive manufacturers website. It does take a few hrs to run as well, but you need to totally wipe the drive completely before putting it in).

    8. #27
      DrProzac's Avatar
      DrProzac is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chelmsford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Amstrad Sky + (A20B015) Low to No Signal Problem on Input 1

      Yes done a low level format. After wondering why the Copy + utility wouldn't recognise the drive!!

      Still you live and learn.

      Guess I'll just have to do the Software update trick until I can afford to get a new box.

      Thanks for all your help anyway!!

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION