Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    please help!!!!!

    This is a discussion on please help!!!!! within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; hi all, I'm having serious issues with sky+ I only got it 10 days ago and am already on my ...

    1. #1
      redgaz26's Avatar
      redgaz26 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      cumbernauld
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      please help!!!!!

      hi all, I'm having serious issues with sky+
      I only got it 10 days ago and am already on my 3rd box, whenever i pause live tv or record something on playback it starts jumping or skipping, or worse still when i go to my planner and select a program to watch it freezes the sky+ and i have to reset it.
      i could put up with the first box doing this, but then the second and now the third!!!!!
      so what else could be causing this. On the day I first got Sky+ i got a new samsung plasma, is there anyway this is causing any of the problems, also the dish i'm using was already there from having sky over a year ago.
      im going to phone sky again today but i don't know what they will say, there not going to keep changing the boxes every second day, they'll be none left for anyone else lol.
      seriously this is really annoying, if i had known this i would have stayed with virgin!
      maybe i will have to forget about sky+ save myself a tenner a month and just get the normal sky digital.
      anyone got any advice before i phone up for the 4th time in 10 days!!!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: please help!!!!!

      I never understand why some people constantly get 'dodgy' boxes, so does it point to something else that is wrong and not the box?

      Try swapping over the 2 satellite cable connections at the back and check your signal strength.

      In order for sky+ to playback, you have to have a satellite signal, so maybe its the cable/lnb/dish where the problem lies.

    4. #3
      redgaz26's Avatar
      redgaz26 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      cumbernauld
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: please help!!!!!

      so why doesn't the sky guy check all these things? all he done was change the box and say goodbye!
      i'm fedup paying for phone calls to be told the same thing, sorry about this we'll get you a new box.
      whats the best email address to use so i can write them a long letter and maybe something will get done.

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: please help!!!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by redgaz26 View Post
      so why doesn't the sky guy check all these things? all he done was change the box and say goodbye!
      signal strength can be dependant of the atmospheric conditions.

      When I first got sky 15 years ago I kept losing channels. The bloke came out loads and couldn't find any problems.

      Eventually I realised it happened when there was moisture in the air and this was getting into the LNB cable connections. As the engineer (by chance) only ever came out when it was dry, he never stood a chance of finding the problem).

      I'm afraid you'll have to do a bit of self diagnostic.

      Bit like going to the docs and saying you dont feel well and then not telling the doctor anything more, it makes his job very difficult to pin point what's wrong with you.

      Generally speaking, problems with sky+ are down to a failing hard drive and so swapping the box will fix 99.99% of problems.

    6. #5
      redgaz26's Avatar
      redgaz26 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      cumbernauld
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: please help!!!!!

      Generally speaking, problems with sky+ are down to a failing hard drive and so swapping the box will fix 99.99% of problems.


      yes I agree but I think i'm in the 0.01% cause this is my third box in 10 days.

     

     

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION