Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Sky + Problem

    This is a discussion on Sky + Problem within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hello people my next door neighbour gave me a sky+ box 4 free as he dont have Sky. Well i ...

    1. #1
      Jg-Dzine's Avatar
      Jg-Dzine is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky + Problem

      Hello people

      my next door neighbour gave me a sky+ box 4 free as he dont have Sky. Well i tryed it today when i connect it all up it will not boot up it makes a beeping noise and the fans seem t start then stop anyone know whats wrong.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Jg-Dzine's Avatar
      Jg-Dzine is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky + Problem

      Why has no1 replyed i really need help

    4. #3
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sky + Problem

      Maybe thats why they gave it you, The hardrive has packed it,!

      Could you post the MAKE & MODEL of yours and the VERSION number.

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Sky + Problem

      @jg-dzine - I take it you already have sky + ? If not even if it works it wont until you upgrade your lnb and cabling.
      cheers

    6. #5
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sky + Problem

      The "beeping" on start suggests that its something to do with the hard-drive as it should load up even without the coax cables plugged in.?

    7. #6
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Sky + Problem

      @fibre - I'm sure your right mate, I just thought he may not want to chuck money at it if he doesn't have +

    8. #7
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sky + Problem

      Yeah, It might be an old PVR1 or even PVR2 box the neighbour has given them, If it is a PVR1 then it is most probably the hard-drive has knackered.

      Even if so they did get the box working, It would be hell of a lot of hassling getting more coax laid and installed, When really if you nag them you could get a brandnew PVR3 with install for around 99 and 49 if your lucky.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION