Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By Happy Boater

    My First Post

    This is a discussion on My First Post within the Sky Viewing Card forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; I had a problem with not getting a signal on the second input on my multi room box which I ...

    1. #1
      Happy Boater's Avatar
      Happy Boater is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2015
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      My First Post

      I had a problem with not getting a signal on the second input on my multi room box which I use when I'm on the narrowboat.

      I was advised to renew the LNB. which corrected the fault. I now have a message saying to pair up the card.

      Entering the information on line on my computer to Sky result's in a message saying that the version and serial number cannot be verified.

      The card and box have worked fine together for three years.

      Any help will be appreciated


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: My First Post

      Which STB do you have?

      There have been quite a few changes to the Sky+ HD STB and if that is what you have then I'd want to ensure that you have the latest firmware.

      If you have an older Sky+ STB then there are a number of different possibilities. For example recently there have been a few reports of issues with some Sky+ STBs.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Happy Boater (18-10-15)

    5. #3
      Happy Boater's Avatar
      Happy Boater is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2015
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My First Post

      Thank you

      The box is the Sky+ HD STB. How can I ensure I have the latest firmware.

      Sorry to be so dim on this

    6. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: My First Post

      No problem. Take a look at the first post in this thread for the latest details.

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-h...-versions.html

      If you don't have the R012 firmware mentioned, the same post also describes how to update your firmware to the current version on what is known as the "DR Stream". This is currently also the R012 firmware.

      Please let us know how you get on and also which version you had to begin with.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    7. #5
      Happy Boater's Avatar
      Happy Boater is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2015
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My First Post

      Many Thanks again although I'm not sure how its happened. But I've managed to pair my card

      The Version is 4f3109 I Don't think I managed to do anything via the Tv as I don't think have a internet connection via the box.

      I re entered the same information onto my on line account on my laptop as I had the other day and it immediately responded that my card was paired I then checked the Sky channels and they were live.

      I can only assume that Sky had done something following the first attempt with out informing me, is that possible. ?

      I am now wondering if my original LNB was faulty or if it was a issue with the box which has cost me unnecessary expense and trouble.

      God knows what it would have cost me if I had had to call an engineer out especially the guy I first contacted who wanted 45 plus vat just for the Lnb
      Scubbie likes this.

    8. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: My First Post

      Great to here that its all working.

      The '4f3109' number I believe is the BIOS version. It indicates that you have a DRX890. The firmware which is updated periodically should be R012.079.50.00P .

      Had you called out an engineer you could have expected to pay as much as 65 for the call out, although they do periodically reduce this fee.

      I don't know why it didn't go through correctly the first time, but that it has now is good. It might well be that your STB hadn't updated previously but between then and when you retried it had.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION