Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 34

    Pair problem / used box

    This is a discussion on Pair problem / used box within the Sky Viewing Card forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Anything before March would have been fine. It isn't a case of us "refusing" to pair these cards to boxes, ...

    1. #21
      nk1989's Avatar
      nk1989 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Pair problem / used box

      Anything before March would have been fine. It isn't a case of us "refusing" to pair these cards to boxes, it's simply a change in our computer system which does not allow us to pair these anymore.
      I got mojo


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Pair problem / used box

      Quote Originally Posted by nk1989 View Post
      Anything before March would have been fine. It isn't a case of us "refusing" to pair these cards to boxes, it's simply a change in our computer system which does not allow us to pair these anymore.
      So the bottom has dropped right out of the used box market? Many will see this as another money grabbing scheme by Sky, no matter what the reason for it is.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #23
      MadGamer's Avatar
      MadGamer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity Option 2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Pair problem / used box

      So does this mean that customers cant buy replacement boxes from eBay even if they are brand new?

    5. #24
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Pair problem / used box

      Quote Originally Posted by MadGamer View Post
      So does this mean that customers cant buy replacement boxes from eBay even if they are brand new?
      I don't think so. With a brand new box you should be OK. I'm guessing, but I think the problem is that their new software will not accept changing ownership of a box which has already been registered to another customer. Can you imagine what would happen if the DVLA did this with cars.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #25
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,235
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,235 Times in 2,100 Posts

      Re: Pair problem / used box

      I would envisage Sky loosing at the first sign of a court case.

      Since I own my STB, if I wish to cancel Sky, I can do with the STB whatever I wish. If that entails selling it to someone else, then that is my choice.

      If Sky wishes to prevent me by making the STB worthless, so that it is only they who can sell STBs, then I can see anti-competitive issues being called in to play.

      Sorry, but Sky are wrong to enforce this new policy upon everyone, if it is the case.

      The only responsible situations would be where a STB has been stolen (akin to blocking mobiles) or where the STB should be under contract with a new customer who has legged it early and owes money.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    7. #26
      petetobin's Avatar
      petetobin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hove
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      Hove
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Pair problem / used box

      I called yesterday to do the same thing. She took my details but then told me she couldn't do it on her system because it was an old box. She then said she needed to send an email to a colleague who would do it within 24 hours. 20 hours in it hasn't been done yet but she said there would be absolutely no problem.

    8. #27
      petetobin's Avatar
      petetobin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hove
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      Hove
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Pair problem / used box

      Just spoke to a very helpful Indian lady who promised to have it sorted within the hour. Will let you what happens.

    9. #28
      petetobin's Avatar
      petetobin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hove
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      Hove
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Pair problem / used box

      Sorted within the hour as promised and now works fine. Old Thomson box packed in on Friday and rather than wait to get the PSU fixed, I picked up an old Pace box for 50 from a local bloke on Gumtree, swapped the HDD over and now I am fully up and working. I guess only problem will be that the HDD is the original one and is now about 3 years old but the missus didn't want to lose her recordings.

    10. The Following User Says Thank You to petetobin For This Useful Post:

      fuzzy logic (17-04-11)

    11. #29
      MadGamer's Avatar
      MadGamer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity Option 2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Pair problem / used box

      Quote Originally Posted by petetobin View Post
      Sorted within the hour as promised and now works fine. Old Thomson box packed in on Friday and rather than wait to get the PSU fixed, I picked up an old Pace box for 50 from a local bloke on Gumtree, swapped the HDD over and now I am fully up and working. I guess only problem will be that the HDD is the original one and is now about 3 years old but the missus didn't want to lose her recordings.
      What you could do is let the other half watch the recorded stuff then swap the HDD for the larger capacity drive
      Sky+HD - Amstrad DRX895W 2TB

    12. #30
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,235
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,235 Times in 2,100 Posts

      Re: Pair problem / used box

      lol - You'll end up recording new material before she's watched all the old stuff.

      If it is the Sky+ HD STB that you have, then what I would seriously do NOW, before the Pace is updated to Darwin, is purchase a larger hard drive (1TB would be more than fine for most) and use Copy+ to transfer everything over to the new drive.

      You would then have plenty of capacity & a new hard drive.

      Once Darwin is installed, this option is closed.

      If it is the Sky+ STB you have, then Darwin is not an issue and you can install a larger drive anytime you wish.

      See the Copy+ forums for more details. The link to the site is in the left margin of this forum.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION