Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    pairing white card with download?

    This is a discussion on pairing white card with download? within the Sky Viewing Card forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; I have a sky+ box/white card without subscription that allows me to record (fluke) fta channels but get the message ...

    1. #1
      mikk's Avatar
      mikk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      pairing white card with download?

      I have a sky+ box/white card without subscription that allows me to record (fluke) fta channels but get the message "wrong card for box" on ftv channels. I'm going to try a '1st time installation' in the hope it will match the card to the box. Should I use the default freq:11.778/v/27.5,2/3 settings for this, or does it matter?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: pairing white card with download?

      You need to ring Sky to pair a card.

      Chances are the PVR features will be removed once this is done.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Smithy99 For This Useful Post:

      mikk (18-03-11)

    5. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: pairing white card with download?

      You will be taking a chance. It is quite possible the 'fluke' will be corrected and you would then have to subscribe to get the Sky+ functions or do without them.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      mikk (18-03-11)

    7. #4
      davemurgatroyd's Avatar
      davemurgatroyd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01865
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: SkyHD multiroom
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: pairing white card with download?

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      You need to ring Sky to pair a card.

      Chances are the PVR features will be removed once this is done.
      Sky will not (and do not need to) pair non subscription cards to boxes.

    8. #5
      davemurgatroyd's Avatar
      davemurgatroyd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01865
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: SkyHD multiroom
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: pairing white card with download?

      Quote Originally Posted by mikk View Post
      I have a sky+ box/white card without subscription that allows me to record (fluke) fta channels but get the message "wrong card for box" on ftv channels. I'm going to try a '1st time installation' in the hope it will match the card to the box. Should I use the default freq:11.778/v/27.5,2/3 settings for this, or does it matter?
      The "1st time installation" does NOT pair a card and never has done (except in the case of new installations where the new box is already listed on your account where boxes were sent out for "self install").

      I have two old blue cards that were replaced with new white cards that still work for recording FTA channels only and give a similar message on FTV channels. Pairing the card to the box would allow you to record FTV channels BUT firstly Sky will NOT pair non subscription cards to boxes and if you did get it paired by any chance their system would almost certainly notice it is a non subscription card and turn off Sky+ features.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION