Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Second hand Sky+ box, will my card work?

    This is a discussion on Second hand Sky+ box, will my card work? within the Sky Viewing Card forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi All, I currently have a Sky+ box downstairs in my living room and an ordinary Sky box upstairs. If ...

    1. #1
      roadboy's Avatar
      roadboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Second hand Sky+ box, will my card work?

      Hi All,

      I currently have a Sky+ box downstairs in my living room and an ordinary Sky box upstairs.

      If I bought a second hand Sky+ box for upstairs would the viewing card from my standard box work in it?

      Cheers

      Dan


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      nige1983's Avatar
      nige1983 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRDEN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      182
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Second hand Sky+ box, will my card work?

      Yes It will do. You just need to call sky and ask them to pair the card. To do this you need to give them the box serial number and viewing card number (available through pressing services and then selecting system details). Also ask them to switch on sky + on your second box so you can record and pause etc.

    4. #3
      nige1983's Avatar
      nige1983 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRDEN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      182
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Second hand Sky+ box, will my card work?

      The only difference you will have from downstairs to upstairs is that as you have a standard box there at the moment you won't have 2 feeds from the dish going upstairs. This will limit the sky + function so you will only be able to record 1 programme at a time as apose to downstairs where you can record 2 at the same time.

    5. #4
      roadboy's Avatar
      roadboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Second hand Sky+ box, will my card work?

      Hi,

      Thanks for that.

      If I ask them to switch Sky+ on the upstairs card will they charge me extra for that?

      Cheers

      Dan

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Second hand Sky+ box, will my card work?

      If you are not already paying it, you will be charged for multi room.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,235
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,235 Times in 2,100 Posts

      Re: Second hand Sky+ box, will my card work?

      Another little tip, it you only have the one multi room box, then it is very likely that your LNB will have 4 connections.

      Take a ladder to it to check and measure the length of the cable from the dish to your Multi-room box. Then pop to Maplin and purchase a twin-core Satellite cable & 4 screw-on F plugs.

      You may need a drill & a bit to widen the hole that the existing cable goes through, but the result is that you can watch & record on the 'new' box.

      If you don't have the 2nd feed, then go through the options in the STB and disable it.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    8. #7
      nige1983's Avatar
      nige1983 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRDEN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      182
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Second hand Sky+ box, will my card work?

      As long as you're already paying for multi room they will add the sky + function free of charge to your second box.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION