Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Sky card abroad

    This is a discussion on Sky card abroad within the Sky Viewing Card forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; I have an old sky box that I've been using in Southern Austria. Up to now the channels available have ...

    1. #1
      SKEYEROCKET's Avatar
      SKEYEROCKET is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01933
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky card abroad

      I have an old sky box that I've been using in Southern Austria. Up to now the channels available have varied but have included itv (ch3) C4 & C5 plus various sky channels. I never get BBC 1or 2 but do get BBC news (Ch503). I don't always get 3/4/5 and assume that might be due to the satellite changing position and therefore dependent upon when I visit (approx 6 times per year ) the box picks up different channels ?
      On my last visit I took a new Sky viewing card to replace the out of date Sky card that was in the box in the hope that this would give me a broader range of programmes. I had the card validated by my Son in the Uk whilst the tv was on in Austria. At the time (and as per instructions on the Viewing card set up info.)the channel was on Itv (ch3) and sure enough when the valdation was made ch3 came up loud and clear but no C4 or C5 and from what I could tell not many other decent channels either So have I wasted 20?
      I did try changing the position of the dish but the best signal/power etc was where it was. Although a normally intelligent person I'm a bit dim at this so please be gentle with your replies as I would like to get a few more channels for my pennies.
      Many thanks,I know you can help !!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky card abroad

      Depending on how big your dish is you may require a larger one for your location in order to properly receive the extra channels. You'll need to find a map showing the beams and size dish required in the area your in (I used to have one but cant remember where it came from).

      Edit - I found it Astra Footprint

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    4. #3
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky card abroad

      How big is the dish and what signal strength do you have?

    5. #4
      SKEYEROCKET's Avatar
      SKEYEROCKET is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01933
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky card abroad

      Thanks both Simon & Smithy 99. I used the mapping tool and Astra 3A seems to nail the area and indicates a 60cm dish would be enough (that's if I'm reading the tool correctly?).My Wife and I both think the current dish is probably 85cm at least and is twice the size, or more, of our UK (new) HD dish.
      I'm out in Austria again shortly and will obviously check it. If the current dish is big enough might it be anything else?

    6. #5
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky card abroad

      You need to use Astra 2A, 2B and 2D where 2D carries the BBC channels whereas the majority of the other channels are on 2A and 2B.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    7. #6
      SKEYEROCKET's Avatar
      SKEYEROCKET is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01933
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky card abroad

      Thanks Simon,
      I think from past 'twiddling' and earlier research that's where the dish is aimed at. Should I assume that I need the larger dish then?
      Also I've just looked up installers for that area and there are a couple within a few miles of our location.If all else fails then I should be able to get some assistance from them.

    8. #7
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky card abroad

      To receive what is known as the "UK Beam" which carries the BBC stuff i'd say you need at least a 120cm dish.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    9. #8
      SKEYEROCKET's Avatar
      SKEYEROCKET is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01933
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky card abroad

      Ok Simon, I'll take that advice and see if I can get one.
      Many thanks for your help.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION