Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Pin or box

    This is a discussion on Pin or box within the Sky Viewing Card forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hello, I'm new to this forum and would like some advice. I have recently set up another Sky box in ...

    1. #1
      leeh's Avatar
      leeh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: none
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Pin or box

      Hello,

      I'm new to this forum and would like some advice. I have recently set up another Sky box in the bedroom, multiroom. The Sky is non contract free to air, not Sky +. The box is identical to our original box, i think its a Thompson standard Sky box, our original box downstairs has the parental guide on restricting certain channels, we were hoping to do this to the one i bought (second hand) recently, but it looks like the pin may have been changed, its not the last 4 digits of the viweing card. would Sky be able to help?, with not being a subsciber, because i would like to have the pin number, is there a way to completely restore factory settings?? Is the parental control tied to the box or the card, if i changed the viewing card, would this help.

      Many thanks Lee.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Pin or box

      leeh
      Hi been browsing around the forum for things that might be of use. You can change pin if you can on My Sky on the Sky website, if you can get logged in. you can try four 0`s or you can try sky who'll should be able to either replace the pin number with any 4 digits that you want or give you more information on setting a new pin number. or you might get some help here Sky.com - Sky Help Centre>Product Help

    4. #3
      leeh's Avatar
      leeh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: none
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Pin or box

      Many thanks. I'll look into it.

    5. #4
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,049
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Pin or box

      Pins in the card not the box but I still would call Sky explain the problem and they still may be able to reset the pin.

      Regards
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    6. #5
      leeh's Avatar
      leeh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: none
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Pin or box

      If the pin's on the card, how come when i insert another card,(i have tried 3) does the box not accept it? I realize old cards are tempremental. If i purchased a new Freesat card from Sky would i be able to use the existing box and access the parental controls with a new pin??

      Thanks for the replies

    7. #6
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,049
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Pin or box

      Because the new cards are not paired up to the box.

      A new card would resolve the problem.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    8. #7
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Pin or box

      leeh
      Hi I would try what The Insider is saying that is another way you could get a good result you should try anyway you can as long as you get a result that is all that matters

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION