Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 29 of 29

    New Viewing Card

    This is a discussion on New Viewing Card within the Sky Viewing Card forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; I haven't received mine yet but what I want to know is this. I used to be subscribed to the ...

    1. #21
      Huddy's Avatar
      Huddy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01604
      Broadband ISP: plus.net
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Northampton
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Viewing Card

      I haven't received mine yet but what I want to know is this. I used to be subscribed to the Setanta channels until they went belly up, however I am still receving Arsenal TV for free which is to my delight, when I get my new card will I lose this as I want be able to ring Setanta and tell them my viewing card number has changed? Will the viewing card number stay the same?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      chronic's Avatar
      chronic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      88
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Viewing Card

      Hi,
      Got my New card today.. what a mess inserted the new card said not recognized put the old one back same message, so phone sky time for help...

      Now they say make sure card in, it is. Reboot the box with old card in all works fine on startup insert new card get message again not working...

      So then get told to try and reboot with new card I then get message Please insert old card wiait 5mins then insert new card. BUT!!! here the thing the box is in standby RED light is ON!!! and this message is on screen person at sky would not belive me at first had to swear it was on standby..

      Anyway at the moment no SKY they have sent a activation for new card have to wait 2mins to 24hours now, not happy

      Hope it works...


      Update: Turned box off after 2hrs with new card in slot and it now works.. It had reset me pin so had to phone sky back, anyway least me got sky back
      Last edited by chronic; 02-07-09 at 08:13 PM.

    4. #23
      pjb007's Avatar
      pjb007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shrewsbury
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Viewing Card

      Quote Originally Posted by pjb007 View Post
      Not received the new viewing card yet, but I've just thought. Our Sky Box always says its not connected to a phone line. It was installed by a Sky Installer and its not been unplugged (in fact it looks like its hard wired so can't be unplugged).

      Will the new card need the phone line?
      Anyone got any idea on this one?
      TV:Sky + (Variety and Knowledge) - Broadband: Connect - Phone: Freetime

    5. #24
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New Viewing Card

      No, you only need the phone plugged in if you are on multiroom. You don't need it for new cards or installs etc.

    6. #25
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: New Viewing Card

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      No, you only need the phone plugged in if you are on multiroom. You don't need it for new cards or installs etc.
      A new install generally needs a phone line. When you order from Sky your smartcard is added to the system and the entitlements to provide your channels are queued up. When the installer makes the install callback, your entitlements are sent over the phone and the system then knows you have been installed, and any further entitlements are then sent over the air.
      There is no p in Thomson.

    7. #26
      Mutters's Avatar
      Mutters is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01233
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Viewing Card

      Got my card yesterday, put it in last night, didn't work, had the same issues as with original poster in my standard Sky box. Phoned support as box had frozen, they were going to charge me 65 for a call out...went to cancellations, got Sky+ being installed to solve this issue. Got home from work today and thought I'd try my box, it worked on old card but only for a few hours, now can't get anythign again!!!

      EDIT: Actually I can get some FTA stuff but not ITV1 which is strange. Very annoyed, tried the software update thingy but can't seem to get anything to help this problem. And to make it worse, Sky can't install Sky+ until the 14th September.
      Last edited by Mutters; 09-09-09 at 07:18 PM.

    8. #27
      meonsoft's Avatar
      meonsoft is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01794
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Viewing Card

      i had same problem with my sky+ got onto sky was told to go into installer menu and do a sky+ planner rebuild

      I did this and had to wait 5 mins before turning the box on from standby

      and it now works perfectly


      I must admit they said at first it was my box at fault even though it was perfect with the old card

    9. #28
      Mutters's Avatar
      Mutters is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01233
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Viewing Card

      Just a quick update...I wrote a letter of complaint to Sky, they have now credited me with a months worth of viewing and my Sky+ has been installed and is working fine now.

    10. #29
      jani56's Avatar
      jani56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: none
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Viewing Card

      Installed new viewing card into sky+ and can no longer record. called sky told them this they said couldnt be problem with card, did all the rebuilding of disc from installer menu and a few other engineer tricks i found on internet, still didnt work. After about 10 worth of calls sky said could send out engineer for 65 and would cost about 200 for a new box if needed. I called to cancel subscription and low & behold I have a free engineer and free box if I need one. Engineer has been and guess what ? the problem was the new viewing card. All sorted now, but will probably cancel anyway as dont watch any of the channels I pay for but at least box will work for the month's notice.

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION