Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    From 2Mb to 500k in 6 days

    This is a discussion on From 2Mb to 500k in 6 days within the Sky unhappiness forums, part of the Sky Broadband feedback category; When I left Entanet, I was getting nearly 2Mb downstream and 670k upstream and it had been like that for ...

    1. #1
      RupertTHEbare's Avatar
      RupertTHEbare is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSLES
      Broadband ISP: FAST
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      From 2Mb to 500k in 6 days



      When I left Entanet, I was getting nearly 2Mb downstream and 670k upstream and it had been like that for months - rock solid.

      I have been with Sky now since the 6th (6 days) and my downstream has dropped off from 1.5Mb to less than 500k and upstream to around 375Kb.
      If it doesn't get fixed, they can take the whole lot back -- HD plus box, phone service and router -- the lot! I've got Freeview, I can buy a Blue Ray player and get all the HD I need, and there's plenty of deals from LCR suppliers, Talk Talk etc.

      Where/who do I complain to that is likely to be able to resolve this issue?

      Because if my Internuts connection goes mamaries skywards, that's more than this bear is willing to up with.

      RTB.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: From 2Mb to 500k in 6 days

      could you post your router stats,

      also may be an idear to do a comparison from your "test" socket (see first link in my sig)

      also just to check are you wired or wireless?

    4. #3
      RupertTHEbare's Avatar
      RupertTHEbare is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSLES
      Broadband ISP: FAST
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: From 2Mb to 500k in 6 days

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      could you post your router stats,

      also may be an idear to do a comparison from your "test" socket (see first link in my sig)

      also just to check are you wired or wireless?
      The router stats from the Sagem are useless. I'll need to try and find some another way.

      The router is plugged full time into the master socket which is in the same room.

      Wired.

      RTB.

    5. #4
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: From 2Mb to 500k in 6 days

      Quote Originally Posted by RupertTHEbare View Post


      When I left Entanet, I was getting nearly 2Mb downstream and 670k upstream and it had been like that for months - rock solid.
      Is the exchange information (WSLES - details here) right in your profile? If so, you are limited for choice of provider - BT or BT!!

      My guess is you are on the Connect service - your router stats would confirm that. It looks like the line may have trained badly so the stats would definitely help.

      EDIT: If it is Connect then it is still in the 10 day training period.
      Last edited by eyemdee; 12-02-08 at 10:18 PM.

    6. #5
      RupertTHEbare's Avatar
      RupertTHEbare is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSLES
      Broadband ISP: FAST
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: From 2Mb to 500k in 6 days

      Quote Originally Posted by eyemdee View Post
      Is the exchange information (WSLES - details here) right in your profile? If so, you are limited for choice of provider - BT or BT!!

      My guess is you are on the Connect service - your router stats would confirm that. It looks like the line may have trained badly so the stats would definitely help.

      EDIT: If it is Connect then it is still in the 10 day training period.
      The exchange information (WSLES) is correct.

      The router stats, such as they are, look like this...

      [IMG]file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/Terence/LOCALS%7E1/Temp/moz-screenshot.jpg[/IMG]

      But I thought that the system would train UP not DOWN.

      RTB.
      Attached Images Attached Images

    7. #6
      RupertTHEbare's Avatar
      RupertTHEbare is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSLES
      Broadband ISP: FAST
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: From 2Mb to 500k in 6 days

      Do you know or can you think why my Sagem is showing this in its stats:

      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB023c.d20e
      Modem Status Up
      DownStream Connection Speed 2016
      UpStream Connection Speed 448
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      and yet I can only get this when I test the actual throughput?



      So far Sky has only sent me a checklist of how to check my socket and wiring.

      RTB.
      Last edited by RupertTHEbare; 14-02-08 at 03:10 AM.

    8. #7
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: From 2Mb to 500k in 6 days

      Because as far as the router is concerned you should be getting 2Mb from the line conditions. Have you compared your speed in the test socket?

    9. #8
      RupertTHEbare's Avatar
      RupertTHEbare is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSLES
      Broadband ISP: FAST
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: From 2Mb to 500k in 6 days

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      Because as far as the router is concerned you should be getting 2Mb from the line conditions. Have you compared your speed in the test socket?
      My router is plugged into the face plate of the master socket all the time. When I remove it and use the test socket it makes virtually no difference whatsoever. In fact, the tests I have been doing lately have all been from the test socket.

      The problem is not inside the house, not unless it is inside the router itself.

      By the way, the 'average 15 minute fix' timer started running yesterday and so far has only produced two pointless emails.

      RTB.

    10. #9
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: From 2Mb to 500k in 6 days

      Sky Connect is just a re-branded BT product. It's not really fair to blame Sky for Connect's poor performance, they are little more than a message service for this.
      All BT Broadband is subject to heavy traffic shaping (throttling) and appart from waiting for Sky LLU at your exchange, or going with another LLU operator, thats about it. As you have said, you have done all you can to get your sync speed up.
      As Sky don't pay BT more than they have to for this, if any user so much as comes close to the 40GB limit they will find their download speed throttled. In fair ness to BT, this is what Sky wants, it makes their own BB look even better
      Last edited by Brian69; 14-02-08 at 02:45 PM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION