Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Just when I thought my troubles were over.....yeah right!

    This is a discussion on Just when I thought my troubles were over.....yeah right! within the Sky unhappiness forums, part of the Sky Broadband feedback category; After a battle of 2 months I was finally activated over the weekend. There I was, happily surfing a short ...

    1. #1
      GillyB's Avatar
      GillyB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect , which is pants!
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just when I thought my troubles were over.....yeah right!

      After a battle of 2 months I was finally activated over the weekend.
      There I was, happily surfing a short while ago then all of a sudden no internet connection, although the router is displaying a green internet light. I've rebooted the router and carried out a repair of the network connection on my laptop but am still unable to connect to the internet.

      Once again am connection to my neighbours wireless network.

      Anybody got any clues and what can I try next. Apart from demanding a MAC and going elsewhere that is.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Laurentl's Avatar
      Laurentl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just when I thought my troubles were over.....yeah right!

      Might be to do with same problem in other posting. see my post in 'Down for about 15 minutes error code 200'.

    4. #3
      allen's Avatar
      allen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Midlands
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      128
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Just when I thought my troubles were over.....yeah right!

      Anybody got any clues and what can I try next. Apart from demanding a MAC and going elsewhere that is.[/QUOTE]

      Have you checked whether your connection drops if you link to the router by wire? This might help isolate the problem and avoid wasting time on elements which are working. It certainly helped me.

      Good luck

    5. #4
      GillyB's Avatar
      GillyB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect , which is pants!
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just when I thought my troubles were over.....yeah right!

      Thanks, I'll try connecting via ethernet cable next time it happens.

    6. #5
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Just when I thought my troubles were over.....yeah right!

      I had a problem like this when I was on BT and setting up wi-fi for the 1st time on my wife's laptop it kept on dropping every 10 mins and then I had to fully reset the wireless for another 10 mins.

      In the end it was due to the wireless card drivers having "an issue" ie the card dropped out if there was a wireless frequency clash and so needed to get the updated ones from the manufacturers website.

      So like stated earlier try ethernet if that works look for updated device drivers.

    7. #6
      Nebiroth's Avatar
      Nebiroth is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just when I thought my troubles were over.....yeah right!

      Try connecting direct to the router by using the 192.168.0.1 address. If you can't do it wirelessly, try it using a wire instead. If a wired connection works but wireless does not then the problem is likely the wireless bit. You can connect direct to the router regardless of the state of the connection to the outside world so it's a good test of the router-PC wireless bit.

      If that is the case try changing the channels on the wireless card and router (remember they will have to match!).

      I had horrific problems getting my Asus card and router talking to each other. At first I thought the internet connection wasn't working at all, but then I tried just connecting to the router itself and that didn't work either, unless I used a wire, which worked fine.

      I had to change the Sky pre-set channel (1) to something different. I've no idea why this helped, because the nearby routers weren't using the channel I was trying. I reset the router and card to use channel 6 and it worked perfectly. If you do this try to use a channel your neighbours aren't.

      As has been suggested, also try seeing if your wireless card has newer drivers.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION