Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 32
    Like Tree5Likes

    Sky Ultrafast

    This is a discussion on Sky Ultrafast within the Sky Ultra Fibre Optic Broadband forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Okay it looks like potentially the lag spikes may be due to a fire in a BT data centre: https://downdetector.co.uk/status/bt-british-telecom/ ...

    1. #21
      Stumpy's Avatar
      Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Ultrafast 1
      Router: Sky Hub SR203
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      580
      Thanks
      62
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky Ultrafast

      Okay it looks like potentially the lag spikes may be due to a fire in a BT data centre: https://downdetector.co.uk/status/bt-british-telecom/

      Apparently there's been a fire in a BT datacentre in Newcastle. No further updates at this point, but they'll need to sort the fire out, and see if traffic can be rerouted.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Sky Ultrafast

      Quote Originally Posted by Stumpy View Post
      Weirdly I can't see a 29.99 for 150/30 on that link. There's one for 100 .. although I can't see an upload speed.
      You have to click 'Check Availability' and put in your postcode to actually see whats available. Seems to also be region depending on the price, 39.99 for the 300/50 package where I am! But opted for the 150/30.

      LOL@ the kids, I had that exact same thing yesterday when it switched over.... "Dad, why did you turn my internet off, I was in a fortnite game...."

      Either way, at least your sorted now.
      speedyrite likes this.

    4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Angel_Rex For This Useful Post:

      speedyrite (24-07-20),Stumpy (23-07-20)

    5. #23
      Stumpy's Avatar
      Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Ultrafast 1
      Router: Sky Hub SR203
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      580
      Thanks
      62
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky Ultrafast

      ahh right. That didn't work for me. Every time I put in my details, it just said "ring us for offers". And whenever I rang, I just got an automated message saying "do it on the website".

    6. #24
      coipu's Avatar
      coipu is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BT-Fibre-900
      Router: opnSense-I78550-Fanless
      Sky TV: Cord Cut
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Location
      Wherever I lay my VPN
      Posts
      592
      Thanks
      38
      Thanked 44 Times in 39 Posts

      Re: Sky Ultrafast

      So sky offers fttp services? That'd be great seiing as the hal and openreach are dragging all the fibre round my old market town for the last couple of months, think we getting it soon.

    7. #25
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Ultrafast

      My router arrived today and the engineer is booked for Tuesday


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    8. #26
      percha's Avatar
      percha is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2013
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky Ultrafast

      I have upgraded to ultrafast and engineer coming out early December. I have a few questions

      Just had sky q installed (new dish, boxes and a new router). My ultrafast order has a router included, does anyone have a link or ID for the new routers?

      How can I check if my ultrafast is using G.fast or FTTP?



      Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

    9. #27
      percha's Avatar
      percha is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2013
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky Ultrafast

      Sky answered, or should I say BT did. The BT guy just turned up this morning to prepare Fibre line to the house, so it will be full fibre line . Sky then rang and new router coming, once fibre is fully installed to master socket happening on BT next visit.

      Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk
      speedyrite likes this.

    10. #28
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Fab Fibre (Sky network)
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,410
      Thanks
      417
      Thanked 167 Times in 161 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky Ultrafast

      Yeah I think G.Fast is only delivered over FTTC where there is a copper connection between the street cabinet to the home.

      Just out of interest, does BT install an ONT to act as a modem? Or does the Sky SR20n act as both modem & router?

      I can have UltraFast here but there’s no FTTP here and there won’t be either soon (possibly never).
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    11. #29
      percha's Avatar
      percha is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2013
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky Ultrafast

      Yes BT stated they will come back in a few days and fit the fibre to the master socket and change to ONT I assume then its ready for new router from Sky. I am glad to get rid of the copper connection as I work from home anyway for 3yrs before pandemic and need a stable/fast connection.

      Also found out that the home phone (non VoIP) can go directly to new router and stay exactly how it is without line rental and completely unlimited.

      Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk
      Last edited by percha; 03-11-20 at 06:59 PM.

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to percha For This Useful Post:

      speedyrite (03-11-20)

    13. #30
      percha's Avatar
      percha is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2013
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky Ultrafast

      I will update you with what BT puts in next!

      Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

    14. The Following User Says Thank You to percha For This Useful Post:

      speedyrite (03-11-20)

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION