Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16
    Like Tree1Likes

    2 networks 1 Router

    This is a discussion on 2 networks 1 Router within the Sky Ultra Fibre Optic Broadband forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by lettice Not sure you'll get that in the next sky router With the world moving to wifi ...

    1. #11
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: 2 networks 1 Router

      Quote Originally Posted by lettice View Post
      Not sure you'll get that in the next sky router
      With the world moving to wifi mesh networks it will reduce that feature ever being considered.

      If you have a spare HG612 that's good, did not think they were available like that.
      But looking on ebay, seems users are selling them for a few quid. Surely though thats's Bt's property and not the customer, oh well suppose they are not needed by BT anymore.
      What has wifi mesh got to do with VDSL or even FTTH? Are Sky planning a UK wide Wifi mesh Network?

      Quote Originally Posted by lettice View Post
      Actually you could always ask the Sky Broadband Tech Team to build you a lego one...
      They did, It's the Sky Q hub isn't it?

      Well I thought it was just a toy.
      Last edited by marjohn56; 07-01-17 at 04:50 PM.
      nivek1612 likes this.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      steveyg_uk's Avatar
      steveyg_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whittlesey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 2 networks 1 Router

      Hi everyone thanks for your input. If I were to remove my sky Q router, get hold of my previous BT VSDL modem, and use say this...Draytek Vigor 2860, Vigor 2860 ADSL & VDSL Series this would make things easier?

      Or even just use Draytek instead of requiring a BT modem, as it has VDSL/2 port.

      I know Sky Q boxes will stop working, but one is Ethernet and the others I can use 3rd party powerline to the Ethernet port. I don't use the sky q WIFI as it doesn't work very well in our house. As previously mentioned, I use a far superior system by Ubiquiti - UniAC Pro.

    4. #13
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: 2 networks 1 Router

      2860 has a built in modem and supports multiple lan segments, so it would do the job fine.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    5. #14
      steveyg_uk's Avatar
      steveyg_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whittlesey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 2 networks 1 Router

      Lovely. So, my Sky Q boxes I'll loose the WIRELESS MESH - correct? No problem - as I use hard wired Ethernet or 3rd party powerline to Ethernet ports on sky q boxes. I don't use the Sky wireless anyway for anything else - so that's not an issue either. Will the Sky Q box still be able to talk to the other boxes ok? If so, it's a go I think :-)

      Will my sky username and password be the same as before when I configured the SR102 router a year or so ago? - Used a billion 8800NL back then.

    6. #15
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: 2 networks 1 Router

      As long as all the Q boxes are on the same segment it should be fine, they won't work if not on the same LAN.

      Username and password can be whatever you like now, as long as there is something in the option61 field. I use Devolo powerlines with my 'Q's with no issues at all, just need to set the 'Q's to use wired.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    7. #16
      steveyg_uk's Avatar
      steveyg_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whittlesey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 2 networks 1 Router

      Great thanks.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION