Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 46
    Like Tree6Likes

    Sky rule out own FTTP network

    This is a discussion on Sky rule out own FTTP network within the Sky Ultra Fibre Optic Broadband forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I don't know whether they'd need to. From what I saw, they just pulled the new fibre cables (which take ...

    1. #31
      Stumpy's Avatar
      Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Ultrafast 1
      Router: Sky Hub SR203
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      580
      Thanks
      62
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky rule out own FTTP network

      I don't know whether they'd need to. From what I saw, they just pulled the new fibre cables (which take up a lot less space than traditional cables), through the pipes from "pole" to "pole" (the BT manholes). I suppose it depends on how much space they have.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,651
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: Sky rule out own FTTP network

      So there must be a joint box of some sort on the poles from which the new fibre replacing copper wire would go to individual houses.

      - - - Updated - - -

      I have a telegraph pole across the road from me. I will pitch my tent and watch it. I am retired now, so have the time to do that.

    4. #33
      Stumpy's Avatar
      Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Ultrafast 1
      Router: Sky Hub SR203
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      580
      Thanks
      62
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky rule out own FTTP network

      haha nice :-) I don't know if they will replace the copper with fibre - I was under the impression that if houses already had copper, fibre was an additional connection, not a replacement, although could be wrong. I'm also not sure if they do things differently if it's above-ground cabling. I don't even know if they provide FFTP above ground - I didn't think they did (but then, I've only been looking into it from a personal point of view - and ours is underground).

      I'd suggest checking Samknows website .. however, I've just checked mine and it says I can't yet get FTTP. Which is weird, because that's the ONLY option for me (other than virgin cable)!

    5. #34
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,651
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: Sky rule out own FTTP network

      Openreach are now installing FTTP from telegraph poles thus replacing the copper wires as far as I am aware.

      It has been announced that my town and one next to me are in the process of having this. Supposedly work started last July, but I have yet to see any signs of the work. I might drive around a bit and have a look.

    6. #35
      Stumpy's Avatar
      Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Ultrafast 1
      Router: Sky Hub SR203
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      580
      Thanks
      62
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky rule out own FTTP network

      Good luck! It's worth noting that even when/if you do get FTTP, there's no guarantee you'll be able to use Sky for it. I've been in a house with FTTP for nearly three years now, and I'm still stuck with BT as my only reasonable option. I think they are slowly starting to release the network to Sky, but it appears to be a very slow process. Unfortunately BT (as most companies these days) do very long contract period and my current contract was up a couple of months ago - my choices were either to take up another 18-24 month contract with BT, or remain out of contract on an inflated rate, in the hope that Sky started servicing our location.

    7. #36
      B J's Avatar
      B J
      B J is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exchange Too Far----- street cab 80 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      297
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky rule out own FTTP network

      Quote Originally Posted by dog-man View Post
      Openreach are now installing FTTP from telegraph poles thus replacing the copper wires as far as I am aware.
      I have a telegraph pole right outside the gate to my drive, only a small drive so about 20 feet from the master socket on my landing window, may come in handy one day
      His name was nut, Mr P Nut.

    8. #37
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,518
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Sky rule out own FTTP network

      The yellow label on telegraph poles is probably the most obvious indication that overhead FTTP is either being fitted or available.Sky rule out own FTTP network-label.jpg

    9. #38
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,651
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: Sky rule out own FTTP network

      I have looked at what used to be called 'roadworks.org' to see what works are taking place in my street and no sign of Open reach over the next 12 months.
      At some points they will have to shut off the road as they will need to lay fibre from the pole to the houses.

    10. #39
      coipu's Avatar
      coipu is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Lede on ECI Modem/pfSense
      Sky TV: Cord Cut
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Location
      Wherever I lay my VPN
      Posts
      549
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 39 Times in 37 Posts

      Re: Sky rule out own FTTP network

      My little country town has just been announced by OR to be getting fttp so I might be getting decent interwebs in the next 20-30 years when it finally gets done. Shame Sky didn't want to do it though, funny how altruistic and wonderful companies become once there is direct competition.

    11. #40
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,651
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: Sky rule out own FTTP network

      I emailed OpenReach and asked when do they envisage FTTP to be available for me. I stressed that a rough idea was acceptable.

      They have said they expect to start taking orders for FTTP in my road by the end of September. This depends on whether they encounter any problems on the way.
      Clearly from what info I already have, they are behind schedule, but it is definitely coming.

      So, do I take it that Sky will have no FTTP at all? That will mean jumping ship.

     

     
    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION