Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Bbc 2 hd

    This is a discussion on Bbc 2 hd within the Sky TV Channels forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi Just noticed on my 1TB box that channel 102 is now BBC 2 HD. Haven't seen any announcements about ...

    1. #1
      dwoodwar's Avatar
      dwoodwar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Mansfield
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Mansfield
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Bbc 2 hd

      Hi

      Just noticed on my 1TB box that channel 102 is now BBC 2 HD. Haven't seen any announcements about this.

      Is this a sign that the other 4 channels could be changing to HD in 101-105

      Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Bbc 2 hd

      BBC2 HD has finally moved as it doesn't have regional variations. Until BBC1, ITV(1) and C4/C5 have regional HD variations they won't move.

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Bbc 2 hd

      We posted a thread on the launch of the new BBC HD channels last week which included details of BBC 2 HD swapping for HD subscribers here:

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/enter...ming-soon.html

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Bbc 2 hd

      Seems to be different in Scotland where 101 is BBC Scotland HD, 102 is plain old BBC2 and BBC2 HD is channel 142.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Bbc 2 hd

      From what I have learned it appears that for those of us living in England and who have the HD pack, BBC2 HD is now on channel 102, with BBC2 (SD) going to 142.

      The BBC2 HD channel is currently the HD version of BBC2 England.

      Currently BBC2 Wales, BBC2 NI and BBC2 Scotland do not have a HD version. No doubt when they do they will each channel swap for HD customers.

      In the mean time BBC1 HD for those in NI, Scotland and Wales is subject to HD swap, were as those in England have to go to channel 141 for BBC1 HD.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #6
      Meteosat's Avatar
      Meteosat is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Porthcawl (S.Wales)
      Broadband ISP: BT INFINITY
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Porthcawl
      Posts
      520
      Thanks
      48
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Bbc 2 hd

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      From what I have learned it appears that for those of us living in England and who have the HD pack, BBC2 HD is now on channel 102, with BBC2 (SD) going to 142.

      The BBC2 HD channel is currently the HD version of BBC2 England.

      Currently BBC2 Wales, BBC2 NI and BBC2 Scotland do not have a HD version. No doubt when they do they will each channel swap for HD customers.

      In the mean time BBC1 HD for those in NI, Scotland and Wales is subject to HD swap, were as those in England have to go to channel 141 for BBC1 HD.
      In Wales we have had BBC2 HD for a long time - just doesn't come up as 102. It's also been on Freeview for many months, joined more recently by BBC3 & 4

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Bbc 2 hd

      Is your BBC2 HD the same as your BBC2 (Wales) channel?

      From what I currently understand, the BBC2 HD channel broadcasts the same content as BBC2 (England).

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #8
      Meteosat's Avatar
      Meteosat is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Porthcawl (S.Wales)
      Broadband ISP: BT INFINITY
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Porthcawl
      Posts
      520
      Thanks
      48
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Bbc 2 hd

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Is your BBC2 HD the same as your BBC2 (Wales) channel?

      From what I currently understand, the BBC2 HD channel broadcasts the same content as BBC2 (England).
      No. not identical - there are opt-outs. If I want to watch the London version I have BBC2 London on one of my favourites (to make it easier to find!)

      There have been some annoying 'Welsh' opt-outs, and am very grateful to SKY for the alternative channels.

      What I'm not sure about is if there is a network BBC2 HD channel available.

      Cheers
      Scubbie

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION