Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Taking Number To New House

    This is a discussion on Taking Number To New House within the Sky Talk forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi Guys, I did a search but nothing eplained this, have a friend that has sky talk, Broadband, Sky + ...

    1. #1
      Hornet's Avatar
      Hornet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eastbourne, SDESTBR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Billion Bipac 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Sunshine Coast
      Posts
      696
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Taking Number To New House

      Hi Guys,
      I did a search but nothing eplained this, have a friend that has sky talk, Broadband, Sky + and wants to take number to new property in the same town but Sky states thats not possible TBH the number starts at the moment 73 and where they are moving to starts 64 but cannot believe this cannot be done are they right.



      Peter
      PS longtime no speak.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Taking Number To New House

      Hello Peter,

      I have someone else who was having to move their phone to a new address on the same exchange and they were told that there would be a new number.

      I'll chase this up for you as I was under the impression that you should be able to retain the same phone number if you are staying within the same exchange.

      BTW: Was the original number given out by Sky or someone else? Also are they on Sky Fibre Broadband or Sky Broadband Unlimited?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Taking Number To New House

      I have been asked to double check if your friend still going to be connected to the same telephone exchange?

      Just in case you both don't know, use the postcode of the old and new properties:

      SamKnows - Telephone Exchange Search

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #4
      Hornet's Avatar
      Hornet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eastbourne, SDESTBR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Billion Bipac 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Sunshine Coast
      Posts
      696
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Taking Number To New House

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      I have been asked to double check if your friend still going to be connected to the same telephone exchange?

      Just in case you both don't know, use the postcode of the old and new properties:

      SamKnows - Telephone Exchange Search
      I checked Sam Knows and they both come up with Eastbourne SDESTBR East Sussex South East, no the number was a BT one originally.



      Peter

      PS was told by the Sky Guy in my shopping centre that you would need a de activated line for this to be possible if a new line is required then cant be done.

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Taking Number To New House

      No problem. I am waiting for an answer. I hope that this will be Monday as they seem to be a little busy or away still.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #6
      Hornet's Avatar
      Hornet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eastbourne, SDESTBR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Billion Bipac 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Sunshine Coast
      Posts
      696
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Taking Number To New House

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      No problem. I am waiting for an answer. I hope that this will be Monday as they seem to be a little busy or away still.
      Thanks Scubbie

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION