Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 26
    Like Tree4Likes

    Porting home landline number

    This is a discussion on Porting home landline number within the Sky Talk forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I have Sky talk and broadband and I want my calls transferred to my mobile. Having to pay mobile rates ...

    1. #1
      jstvj's Avatar
      jstvj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01579
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2013
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Porting home landline number

      I have Sky talk and broadband and I want my calls transferred to my mobile. Having to pay mobile rates for the transferred part of the call is cost prohibited. Therefore, I have found a virtual phone company (Buzz) and think this is an acceptable alternative.

      However, Buzz say that if they ask OFCOM to port my home number to their service. My landline will not get a new number and the service including broadband of course, will cease. Then Sky would charge me a penalty for ending the services in contract.

      I have asked Sky to help but all they say is, numbers are BT responsibility. Buzz disagree and say Sky should be able to arrange it for me.

      Is anyone able to offer any advice on how I can achieve this please ?


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      buddbuttocks's Avatar
      buddbuttocks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      250
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 25 Times in 18 Posts

      Re: Porting home landline number

      To port your phone number to another provider, you would be ceasing your line rental with Sky. No other way around it. Usually the losing provider doesn't do anything, it's up to the gaining provider to initiate the number port and line takeover. Sounds like you have been misinformed.

      Not sure how Buzz operates, but I have my doubts that Sky would still be able to provide broadband if your number is on a virtual line. You'd probably have to take out a second line.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to buddbuttocks For This Useful Post:

      jstvj (03-10-13)

    5. #3
      jstvj's Avatar
      jstvj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01579
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2013
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by buddbuttocks View Post
      To port your phone number to another provider, you would be ceasing your line rental with Sky. No other way around it. Usually the losing provider doesn't do anything, it's up to the gaining provider to initiate the number port and line takeover. Sounds like you have been misinformed.

      Not sure how Buzz operates, but I have my doubts that Sky would still be able to provide broadband if your number is on a virtual line. You'd probably have to take out a second line.
      I want to replace my existing number with another landline number so Sky talk and broadband continues. Sky said they could change my number if I was receiving nuisance calls, which I am. However, they say that my existing number would go to BT (as they do it all) who quarantine it for six months before reissuing it. There seems no way I can ask BT if I can keep the original number for porting to Buzz.


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free

    6. #4
      tenar's Avatar
      tenar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle NINE
      Broadband ISP: sky fibre max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      newcastle co down
      Posts
      467
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Porting home landline number

      the only number that would be valid is your existing number if you can change the number the old number is no longer valid so no orders can be placed against it , only way to get another number is to order a 2nd line (dont know about cost contact bt)

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to tenar For This Useful Post:

      jstvj (03-10-13)

    8. #5
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,518
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Porting home landline number

      Please clarify. You say that you are receiving nuisance calls but you want to retain your existing directory number. Most people in that situation would want a new number.
      jstvj likes this.

    9. #6
      jstvj's Avatar
      jstvj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01579
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2013
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by seawright View Post
      Please clarify. You say that you are receiving nuisance calls but you want to retain your existing directory number. Most people in that situation would want a new number.
      When I saw nuisance calls, I mean that there seems to be a lot of callers asking for previous subscribers from years back. It seems that my landline number has done the rounds over the years.


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free

    10. #7
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL
      Router: Billion 7400
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,491
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 123 Times in 118 Posts

      Re: Porting home landline number

      Quote Originally Posted by jstvj View Post
      When I saw nuisance calls, I mean that there seems to be a lot of callers asking for previous subscribers from years back. It seems that my landline number has done the rounds over the years.


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free
      But so will any number you get from any other provider.

      Why would you want all these junk calls going to your mobile?

    11. The Following User Says Thank You to bubblegun For This Useful Post:

      jstvj (03-10-13)

    12. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Porting home landline number

      As an idea, why not set up a phone number with Skype?

      With a suitable data plan people could use that to call you on you phone or a laptop/smart phone/tablet or any other device which Skype can be installed on.
      jstvj likes this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    13. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      jstvj (03-10-13)

    14. #9
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,518
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Porting home landline number

      AFAIK Sky will waive clawback charges if you re-instate your service so if you particularly want to retain your existing number ask Buzz to provide you with a telephone service and take over your existing number. Once the transfer is complete your landline should be dead and your broadband ceased. Call Sky and ask to re-instate your telephone and broadband services. Potential problems with this are:
      • Being without broadband for approx two weeks so ensure you have a mobile internet dongle.
      • You may lose out if you have paid 12 months advance line rental.
      • You will only be able to take out a currently available calls package (ie. no free evenings and weekend calls).
      • Depending on your old package you may also lose free international calls.

    15. The Following User Says Thank You to seawright For This Useful Post:

      jstvj (03-10-13)

    16. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Porting home landline number

      I couldn't remember, but there is more that you can do with Skype:

      Skype for business - save money, stay connected and work smarter with Skype.

      Click the heading "forward calls" and you will see this:
      Forward calls

      Never miss a call thanks to call forwarding. Get your calls forwarded to any phone at low per minute rates and pay with Skype Credit or cover the cost with a subscription.

      How it works:


      1. Somebody calls you on Skype, but you’re unable to answer or you’re offline.
      2. The call gets forwarded to a mobile or landline of your choice.
      3. You pick up and there’s no extra charge for the person calling.


      This handy feature also works with incoming calls from Skype Numbers.
      An advantage IMHO with this is that you could simply change the number that calls should be forwarded to, allowing you improved portability.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    17. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      jstvj (03-10-13)

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION