Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Getting Sky Talk and Broadband

    This is a discussion on Getting Sky Talk and Broadband within the Sky Talk forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I'm due to have my phone line activated with Sky Talk and Broadband tomorrow, but there's no info about the ...

    1. #1
      phil8715's Avatar
      phil8715 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Getting Sky Talk and Broadband

      I'm due to have my phone line activated with Sky Talk and Broadband tomorrow, but there's no info about the equipment or if and when the engineer will arrive to install it.

      I was told it would be active tomorrow. When I had sky put in I received a phone call from the engineer the day before, but nothing this time.

      Any ideas?
      Sent from my KFOT using Tapatalk 2


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      tenar's Avatar
      tenar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle NINE
      Broadband ISP: sky fibre max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      newcastle co down
      Posts
      467
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Getting Sky Talk and Broadband

      do you have an existing bt type line? if you do then will just be remotely activated at telephone exchange

    4. #3
      phil8715's Avatar
      phil8715 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Getting Sky Talk and Broadband

      Yes but I thought I was getting a Sky Hub.

      Sent from my KFOT using Tapatalk 2

    5. #4
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,518
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Getting Sky Talk and Broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by phil8715 View Post
      Yes but I thought I was getting a Sky Hub.
      Usually sent by Royal Mail.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Getting Sky Talk and Broadband

      Were you given a specific date for the broadband activation? Usually with a new phone connection this can be some time after the phone is put in, ranging from a few days to a couple of weeks.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      phil8715's Avatar
      phil8715 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Getting Sky Talk and Broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Were you given a specific date for the broadband activation? Usually with a new phone connection this can be some time after the phone is put in, ranging from a few days to a couple of weeks.
      It's now transpired that for some reason broadband part the order didn't go though. BT cancelled it because BT open reach were doing some work in the line, I know what BT haven't done on our line and that was upgrade our exchange to fibre optic.

      It's strange as we ported the number over from plusnet. Not BT.


      Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

    8. #7
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,518
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Getting Sky Talk and Broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by phil8715 View Post
      It's strange as we ported the number over from plusnet. Not BT.
      PlusNet is owned by BT but it's run as an independent subsidiary.

    9. #8
      phil8715's Avatar
      phil8715 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Getting Sky Talk and Broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by seawright View Post
      PlusNet is owned by BT but it's run as an independent subsidiary.
      That's what I thought, like Giffgaff is owed by 02.


      Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION