Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    changing land line number

    This is a discussion on changing land line number within the Sky Talk forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I would like to change my land line number could anybody tell me if this is posible and if so ...

    1. #1
      skybob's Avatar
      skybob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01942
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Location
      wigan
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      31
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      changing land line number

      I would like to change my land line number could anybody tell me if this is posible and if so how mutch would it cost me.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Good post I'm also considering the same thing so will be interested in the replys.



      Sent using TapaTalk for iPhone

    4. #3
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: changing land line number

      according to this thread you can only get a number change if you report nuisance calls to the police and give a crime reference number. It's a bit old so I hope that this is not the case now!

      Sky Help Forum - Changing phone number - Help & Support from the Official Sky Forum

    5. The Following User Says Thank You to williammorris For This Useful Post:

      skybob (08-04-12)

    6. #4
      fluke's Avatar
      fluke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sydenham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      SE London
      Posts
      194
      Thanks
      25
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: changing land line number

      Went through this some years ago.

      Without going to the Police to get a crime reference Sky want 100 odd for the privilege, in my case the local Police Office and Officers just laughed.

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-t...ne-number.html


      ==========
      Regards
      Dave

    7. #5
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Lol oh dear I'll just not bother then I just get calls for other people I guess that's the cons of having a recycled number!


      Sent using TapaTalk for iPhone

    8. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: changing land line number

      If you are getting unsolicited calls, consider registering with the Telephone Preference Service (TPS).

      If you are registered and UK based companies fail to check your number against it, they can be punished by Ofcom. It can take up to 28 days for everyone to update their records though.

      TPS

      ...Remember, it is a legal requirement for telemarketers not to call a TPS subscribed number after 28 days, but you should start noticing a gradual decline from registration.
      You can register multiple numbers at the same time. I just went through the process to do mine again and it has remembered them from being registered a couple of years ago.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      skybob (08-04-12)

    10. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: changing land line number

      If you are getting unsolicited calls, consider registering with the Telephone Preference Service (TPS).
      The problem with this is it only applies to sales calls and leave a hole for 'marketing' calls which is just a disguise for sales calls.

      Have a look at this thread from the Sky Help forum, in particular the last two posts.
      Sky Help Forum - Changing phone number - Help & Support from the Official Sky Forum

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #8
      James_Mitchell's Avatar
      James_Mitchell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      756
      Thanks
      43
      Thanked 50 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: changing land line number

      My landline number has been on the TPS list for years. TBH, it's not really of much use these days as many companies are getting round the TPS rules by various means. For a start, the TPS have no control of international numbers calling you.

      All I do is use my caller ID display and simply ignore any unrecognised, 0800, 0845, 0740 or international/out of area numbers. If it's important, they can leave a message. 99.9% of missed calls I get don't leave a message, so they are clearly marketing/sales calls.

    12. #9
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Still odd it takes a week or 2 but I'm glad he got it sorted on that thread


      Sent using TapaTalk for iPhone

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION