Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Rubbish sky talk

    This is a discussion on Rubbish sky talk within the Sky Talk forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Does anyone know why the caller identifier doesn't work on Sky Talk ? Was working fine about 6 months ago ...

    1. #1
      ads2312's Avatar
      ads2312 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Rubbish sky talk

      Does anyone know why the caller identifier doesn't work on Sky Talk ?
      Was working fine about 6 months ago after we switched from BT, then just stopped working. Rang sky about 10 times now and all they say is they will look at it and nothing ever happens. Had 2 different filters sent which do nothing and starting to get a bit ****** off now and every time I have to call them.
      Any tricks ? tried all the things sky recommend.
      Wish I'd stayed with BT to be honest !!

      thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Rubbish sky talk

      It works OK for me, are you sure it is not your handset that is causing the problem? Have you tried another handset?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      ads2312's Avatar
      ads2312 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Rubbish sky talk

      No as I don't have one but it worked fine with BT, then fine for a few months with SKY, then stopped and sky did something and it worked for a few months then stopped again. Nothing wrong with he handset. Did notice some old posts about the route effecting it so will try turning it off when I get in tonight.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Rubbish sky talk

      Caller Display certainly works on my own phone & my friend's, she had the same set on her BT connection.

      I would suggest a couple of things.

      If you suspect that your router is the cause, then simply unplug the router, plug the telephone directly into your master socket and test. If no number appears, then dial 1471 to confirm that it was sent.

      Next take your phone to a friend's home and check it there.

      It is possible that a power surge has corrupted the handset since changing over to Sky. With this in mind, search the Internet to see if anyone else has described a similar issue and to see if there is a solution. Also contact the manufacturer to see if there is a reset function to clear the potential fault.

      Finally, see if you can borrow a friend's phone with caller display. This may confirm whether of not it is the handset.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      ads2312's Avatar
      ads2312 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Rubbish sky talk

      will do but it doesn't really explain why it worked sometime and not others.

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Rubbish sky talk

      Quote Originally Posted by ads2312 View Post
      will do but it doesn't really explain why it worked sometime and not others.
      A surge of electric can sometimes occur and this could upset the electronics inside the handset.

      The object of the different things which I have suggested it to see if it is a Sky thing, something only on your line, or perhaps something which is common to your particular handset.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Rubbish sky talk

      Quote Originally Posted by ads2312 View Post
      No as I don't have one but it worked fine with BT, then fine for a few months with SKY, then stopped and sky did something and it worked for a few months then stopped again. Nothing wrong with he handset. Did notice some old posts about the route effecting it so will try turning it off when I get in tonight.
      First off, dial to *#234# and confirm it's active. If so, then have you tried testing it from the master socket with JUST the phone and NO other equipment like filters? If not, then try that and test it out again to check if the caller is displayed.

    9. #8
      ads2312's Avatar
      ads2312 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Rubbish sky talk

      yeah done all the tests, think i need to nick a phone from work and see if thats the problem. Don't think it is but worth a try.
      cheers

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION