Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 25 of 25

    Adding Sky Talk when already on Sky Broadband Unlimited

    This is a discussion on Adding Sky Talk when already on Sky Broadband Unlimited within the Sky Talk forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I'm on Sky's LLU (Broadcom equipment) but for some reason my phone line goes through BT 's equipment. Whilst it ...

    1. #21
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Adding Sky Talk when already on Sky Broadband Unlimited

      I'm on Sky's LLU (Broadcom equipment) but for some reason my phone line goes through BT's equipment.

      Whilst it might be nice to have Broadcom instead of the Easynet, at the end of the day it doesn't really matter too much.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      BroadbandKing's Avatar
      BroadbandKing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1Tb
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      304
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Adding Sky Talk when already on Sky Broadband Unlimited

      I suppose Sky could put you on MER, then you would need to ask netgear to upgrade their firmware for the DGND3700, otherwise you would need to revert back to the sagem.
      On the easynet, I guess there is no way Sky can introduce MER and as long as your phone rental is with BT, Sky cannot do anything at all.
      That is why they are now insisting everyone who takes broadband, takes the line rental, as they want everyone eventually on the SVBN and then MER.

    4. #23
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Adding Sky Talk when already on Sky Broadband Unlimited

      I'm not 100% certain, but I thought that some of those on Easynet were on MER.

      As for the Netgear DGND3700, it would be nice for others to also help persuade Netgear to release a suitable firmware that supports Sky's implementation of MER correctly.

      However, should MER become fixed for everyone (a long way ahead yet) the DGND3700 has the Ethernet WAN port, so can be used as a Cable router as well. I have successfully tested this principle with my Sagem 2304n connecting to the telephone line and DGND3700 running my LAN. Access to the Internet worked absolutely fine.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #24
      BroadbandKing's Avatar
      BroadbandKing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1Tb
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      304
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Adding Sky Talk when already on Sky Broadband Unlimited

      Thanks for your help.

      I have just ordered Sky Talk Unlimited, been told it will take up to 3 weeks.
      I will remain on the easynet LLU until there is spare SVBN capacity for my broadband.

      I assume so far that PPoA connection via a non sky router on a MER network still work?

    6. #25
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Adding Sky Talk when already on Sky Broadband Unlimited

      It certainly should do. There have been a few members having issues with specific routers on some exchanges, but most appear to be just fine.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION