Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17
    Like Tree1Likes

    Handsfree fades constantly

    This is a discussion on Handsfree fades constantly within the Sky Talk forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi, I am someone who needs the handsfree option on phone calls and ever since I was switched to Sky ...

    1. #1
      AvelingH's Avatar
      AvelingH is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01634
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: no Sky TV
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Handsfree fades constantly

      Hi,

      I am someone who needs the handsfree option on phone calls and ever since I was switched to Sky from VirginMedia the sound from my phone on handsfree has faded to nothing and I can barely hear the other end and they me.

      I have tried unplugging one little-used phone in case the wireless modem was overloading the line, but no luck. No luck moving phones either.

      Is it worth the hassle of getting anyone out? I didn't have this problem with VirginMedia, btw.

      H


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,257
      Thanks
      849
      Thanked 2,247 Times in 2,108 Posts

      Re: Handsfree fades constantly

      You may wish to check that your telephone hasn't started to fail first. I use hands-free most of the time on the phone without any problems.

      See if you can plug it into a friend's socket to see if the same problem occurs.

      Also you may wish to try using a corded telephone in your own socket, without it being hands-free, to see how that behaves.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      AvelingH's Avatar
      AvelingH is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01634
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: no Sky TV
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Handsfree fades constantly

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      You may wish to check that your telephone hasn't started to fail first. I use hands-free most of the time on the phone without any problems.

      See if you can plug it into a friend's socket to see if the same problem occurs.

      Also you may wish to try using a corded telephone in your own socket, without it being hands-free, to see how that behaves.
      All three of them at the same time? They're different ages and all corded as I can't pick things up off the floor. And now the handsets are showing the same problem!

      H

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,257
      Thanks
      849
      Thanked 2,247 Times in 2,108 Posts

      Re: Handsfree fades constantly

      Since all your phones are corded, it may be very relevant to know how many devices are connected to your telephone line.

      You have 3 corded telephones.

      Do you have a fax machine, ansa-phone, Sky STB, emergency caller connected as well?

      I don't know the specifications for Virgin, but Sky should be the same as BT. With BT there is a maximum Ring Equivalence Number (REN) value of 4 allowed.

      Most modern phones have a value of 1, so you are already at 3.

      This may be the cause of your problem if you have exceeded the value. Check the values first. If it is a problem, disconnect things to confirm the cause.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    6. #5
      AvelingH's Avatar
      AvelingH is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01634
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: no Sky TV
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Handsfree fades constantly

      I had/have 3 corded phones and Sky's modem Scubbie with a total of 3 REN. I have unplugged each one in turn to no success.

      Just because the BT man didnt want to mess around taking long leads from the front of my house to the centre of the sittingroom, opting instead to use the 10-year-old cable put in by Blueyonder, who after 2 takeovers is now Virgin, I have had nothing but problems since 20 May. I had no problems before the switchover.

      I have proved conclusively it is not the extension leads because I plugged old and new phones into the 'master' socket with and without anything in the way of the signal and have had the same result. Handsfree speakerphone does not work and I need it to work.

      I have bought new phones but the same thing happens as happened with my old phones, though the only one that kind of worked was a cordless one but I can't use cordless ones as I can't catch them if they fall!

      What do I do!??

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,257
      Thanks
      849
      Thanked 2,247 Times in 2,108 Posts

      Re: Handsfree fades constantly

      Hello AvelingH,

      Ok, so there are 3 phones. I assume that you also have the sky STB connected.

      I trust that you have checked out any forums discussing the model that you have, just in case there is a known fault.

      If the above is all fine, then I would say that you have sufficient cause to call your call provider and complain. I suspect it might be difficult to identify the cause though.

      You should be able to use the information from this thread to help.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    8. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      AvelingH (21-07-11)

    9. #7
      AvelingH's Avatar
      AvelingH is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01634
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: no Sky TV
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Handsfree fades constantly

      What is the Sky STB?

    10. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,257
      Thanks
      849
      Thanked 2,247 Times in 2,108 Posts

      Re: Handsfree fades constantly

      Quote Originally Posted by AvelingH View Post
      What is the Sky STB?
      Your Sky TV Set Top Box. They can be connected to the telephone line to allow you to order Sky Box Office events & to use the on-line features from it too.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    11. #9
      AvelingH's Avatar
      AvelingH is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01634
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: no Sky TV
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Handsfree fades constantly

      Sorry, being dim.

      I dont have Sky TV and thus no box. Went back to Virgin for that, and that is cable.

    12. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,257
      Thanks
      849
      Thanked 2,247 Times in 2,108 Posts

      Re: Handsfree fades constantly

      No problem, your profile indicates that you still have Sky TV. I was just crossing the 't's & dotting the 'i's.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION