Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    Changing line rental from BT to sky?

    This is a discussion on Changing line rental from BT to sky? within the Sky Talk forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Thanks for the comments guys. TBH I cannot see us moving from sky, we use the tv and the BB ...

    1. #11
      mattylad's Avatar
      mattylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCROSS
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Changing line rental from BT to sky?

      Thanks for the comments guys.

      TBH I cannot see us moving from sky, we use the tv and the BB all the time, I have not come across anyone else that can give use unlimited BB for 7.50PM.

      So moving away is not likely to happen for several years, the drop line has recently been replaced by BT.

      My main problems are really with sky & the router itself - we do have to reset it often.
      (Which is why I am asking in another thread about replacing the firmware).

      Saving 90 a year could help us upgrade to HD too.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Changing line rental from BT to sky?

      You can stll get the BB for 7.50 without doing the line by renewing your BB contract for 12 months.

    4. #13
      mattylad's Avatar
      mattylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCROSS
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Changing line rental from BT to sky?

      Yeah, I think I might be going down the retentions route in order to get a HD box too lol

    5. #14
      ToeKnee's Avatar
      ToeKnee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Andover
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Q
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Changing line rental from BT to sky?

      One problem that you will have is that you will not be able to services like 1899 and 18185 to get cheaper calls to mobiles, 0845 and some international destinations.
      Several people in the forum have said that Sky block them if you have your line rental with them.

      I still have my line rental with BT and can use these override numbers for any calls that I do not wish to be billed by Sky Talk.

      The cost of Sky Broadband Unlimited is still 7.50 per month, whether or not you have your line rental with Sky.

    6. #15
      mattylad's Avatar
      mattylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCROSS
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Changing line rental from BT to sky?

      I dont call international, but 0845 ???

      Thats a common UK local rate number isn't it?

    7. #16
      mattylad's Avatar
      mattylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCROSS
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Changing line rental from BT to sky?

      Do 1899 and 18185 work out saving you much?

      I just looked them up - can I subscribe to both?

    8. #17
      RJM's Avatar
      RJM
      RJM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Weybridge
      Broadband ISP: Now PlusNet
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Freeview
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      84
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Changing line rental from BT to sky?

      With, a BT Line using "18185" calls cost 5p for up to 60 minutes talk time to 01 numbers.

      If, you have a Sky line you can still access "18185" (using an 0800 connection) but, calls are charged at 1p per minute.

      Really depends on how much you use the phone during the day.

    9. #18
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Changing line rental from BT to sky?

      Quote Originally Posted by RJM View Post
      With, a BT Line using "18185" calls cost 5p for up to 60 minutes talk time to 01 numbers.

      If, you have a Sky line you can still access "18185" (using an 0800 connection) but, calls are charged at 1p per minute.

      Really depends on how much you use the phone during the day.
      With Sky Talk unlimited you can call 01 numbers 24/7 for the 1st hour for free, why would I want to pay 5p?

      Also calling the USA is very cheap too, should this be where you want to call. Other destinations are also just as cheap.

      From Sky Talk Tariff Guide

      Unlimited international landline calls to Austria, Australia, Belgium, Canada, Czech Rep, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and USA (also includes calls to mobiles in Canada and USA). Unlimited calls to the 20 popular destinations last up to an hour after which standard Sky international rates apply, or you can hang up and redial as often as you like. Subject to Acceptable Use Policy see sky.com/skytalk
      With regards to 0845 numbers, there is a website that links you to a normal number. Should you call the normal number (01 or 02 or 03 or 0870) then the call will once more be free for the 1st hour.

      Sky Talk Unlimited costs an extra 5 per month. If only have Sky Talk and you call during the evening (7pm to 7am) on a week day or anytime during the weekend, you can also get free calls to some UK numbers (01 or 02 or 03 or 0870) but not the International ones.

      As for other international calls, everyone is vying for your business. Skype offers a very price range. I'm not too sure how Sky compares, but you are free to research them both.

      http://www.sky.com/shop/__PDF/8968_S..._V4_HR_RGB.pdf

      Cheap Calls and Group Video Calls with Skype - Skype

      As with so many other products these days, you do need to do your research properly first.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION