Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Noisy Phone line - Anytime plus - Homplugs

    This is a discussion on Noisy Phone line - Anytime plus - Homplugs within the Sky Talk forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I recently connected my sky hd box to my router via homeplugs to receive anytime plus, but since doing so ...

    1. #1
      chrisjustice's Avatar
      chrisjustice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01903
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Noisy Phone line - Anytime plus - Homplugs

      I recently connected my sky hd box to my router via homeplugs to receive anytime plus, but since doing so my home phone has become unusable due to noise and crackling on the line. After unplugging the home plugs and disconnecting my hd box the noise pursists. Could homeplugs be the cause of the noise or is it a coincedence?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Noisy Phone line - Anytime plus - Homplugs

      My first port of calls would be to check:

      1. the microfilter (swap it with another)
      2. the telephone line with only a corded telephone connected (dial '1' and listen for any noise)


      My money is on the microfilter first as what you have described sounds familiar in that respect.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      chrisjustice's Avatar
      chrisjustice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01903
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noisy Phone line - Anytime plus - Homplugs

      thanks for the quick response. Should have said that ive been through the usual procedure of disconnecting everything and plugging a corded phone into the main socket and still got the crackling. sky sent bt out to have a look and bt solved it for about 24hours, i then reconnected the homeplugs to the sky box and went to use the phone today and the crackling sound is back. after unplugging the homeplugs again the noise is still there. so just wondered if the homeplugs was the cause of the problem.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Noisy Phone line - Anytime plus - Homplugs

      The HomePlugs won't be the cause of the problem.

      If you are able to plug the corded telephone into the test socket, with everything else disconnected, and still have the noise, then please call whom ever you pay your line rental to.

      Faults can appear to be repaired, but can return.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      chrisjustice's Avatar
      chrisjustice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01903
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noisy Phone line - Anytime plus - Homplugs

      Thank you, looks like another lengthy call to sky then.

    7. #6
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Noisy Phone line - Anytime plus - Homplugs

      Yup noise faults are a whole different matter, the company who you pay your line rental to is resposnsible to fixing them.

      There is also a lot more regulations over having a noise fault fixed, when you phone up DO NOT MENTION BROADBAND.

      You are reporting a noise fault only, most likely when the noise fault gets fixed the broadband will improve.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION