Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    US toll free numbers

    This is a discussion on US toll free numbers within the Sky Talk forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Does anyone know if calls to US toll free numbers are free with Sky Talk Unlimited? I've got a nightmare ...

    1. #1
      harry's Avatar
      harry is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: London
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      US toll free numbers

      Does anyone know if calls to US toll free numbers are free with Sky Talk Unlimited? I've got a nightmare dispute going on with Ebay.com and it's going to be a long call.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      SadBloke's Avatar
      SadBloke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      313
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts

      Re: US toll free numbers

      No, they aren't free. There are landline VoIP connections available that will let you dial through to a US number - the UK part of the call will be a normal 01/02 call.

      Try entering the US number here to see if anyone has linked to it, then look on the PSTN page for a UK access number (eg 020 3355 8806):
      SIPBroker - ENUM Lookup

      Edit: Remembered that Localphone will connect to US toll free through standard UK numbers, so you could try them also.

    4. #3
      harry's Avatar
      harry is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: London
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: US toll free numbers

      Thank you so much for that. I don't totally understand all of it, but I'm working on it!

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: US toll free numbers

      Calls to USA are free if you have Sky Talk Unlimited, I would imagine this would include Toll Free numbers. With Freetime you would need a UK number.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: US toll free numbers

      Why not use Skype?

      It does connect FOC to US Toll free numbers.

      Cheap calls to United States - Skype

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #6
      RJM's Avatar
      RJM
      RJM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Weybridge
      Broadband ISP: Now PlusNet
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Freeview
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      84
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: US toll free numbers

      "18185" is pretty cheap if you do not have "Skype":-

      Welcome to 18185.co.uk: UK's Leading Telephone Discounter!

    8. #7
      SadBloke's Avatar
      SadBloke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      313
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts

      Re: US toll free numbers

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Calls to USA are free if you have Sky Talk Unlimited, I would imagine this would include Toll Free numbers. With Freetime you would need a UK number.
      Oh yes, I had forgotten they added some international destinations to Unlimited a while back. Still not enough for me to give up 18185 though

    9. #8
      harry's Avatar
      harry is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: London
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: US toll free numbers

      Hi everyone
      Thank you so much for the help. I think the answer is Skype - brilliant, Scubbie. I have phoned Sky on this, but they didn't know whether toll-free calls were included in the Unlimited package. Their best suggestion was to try and then check the bill in a few days time to see if I had been charged! So I have emailed them, but so far no response. I've checked the Skype option and it works!!

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: US toll free numbers

      0800 calls are included so I don't see why 'Toll free', the American equivalent, would not be. Once again Sky show how bad they are at dealing with customers. 'Try it and see if you get charged' I have seldom heard anything so ridiculous. If you can use Skype, that's fine, I hope you get your problem sorted.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: US toll free numbers

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      0800 calls are included so I don't see why 'Toll free', the American equivalent, would not be.
      They specifically are listed as free, which is why I suggested it.

      The only thing I didn't know was whether the OP has access to a phone with Skype installed or a PC, Laptop or Mac with a microphone/headset.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION