Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 14 of 14

    US toll free numbers

    This is a discussion on US toll free numbers within the Sky Talk forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Originally Posted by Isitme 0800 calls are included so I don't see why 'Toll free', the American equivalent, would not ...

    1. #11
      SadBloke's Avatar
      SadBloke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      313
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts

      Re: US toll free numbers

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      0800 calls are included so I don't see why 'Toll free', the American equivalent, would not be.
      They are not the same thing though. International toll free numbers are 00800 but US domestic toll free are dialled from here as 001800 or 001866 - they may be toll-free in the US but the interconnect from the UK to the US is still required (ie the 001 bit). I agree though that they should be included in the international part of the Unlimited plan.

      I have to admit that I hate Skype, which is why I mentioned the SiP option (open source VoIP), accessible via landlines. When I was living in the USA for a while I used Localphone to set up a UK local number that connected painlessly and cheaply via VoIP to my US mobile phone, with callers from the UK none the wiser as to where I actually was.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: US toll free numbers

      (ie the 001 bit)
      001 has to be put at the beginning of any call to the USA, so unless the software is super intelligent, I don't think it will even know it is calling a Toll free number.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      Artist360's Avatar
      Artist360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thurso
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: US toll free numbers

      Hello. I know all your post are nearly one year old. I used my sky phone line thats on talk unlimited and I telephoned xbox USA just to see if I get charged or not. Been on the phone for 5 minutes using the +1800 number for example I dialed 0018004699269 ( US version number - 1(800)-4MY-XBOX ) to connect to Xbox customer support. Checked my bill for call charges the next day. came back as 0.00p so yes, if you want to ring a USA toll free number tottally free providing your on the unlimited package, you got nothing to worry about. If still in doubt, you can always ring customer services and they can tell you the same thing.

      Happy international calling

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: US toll free numbers

      you can always ring customer services and they can tell you the same thing.
      That was the problem, they didn't know! See post #8. Thanks for confirming they are free.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION