Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    noisy line causing broadband issues

    This is a discussion on noisy line causing broadband issues within the Sky Talk forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; hi i have posted before on the broadband forum about my problem with my broadband before. I should be able ...

    1. #1
      smiley rulez's Avatar
      smiley rulez is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Austell
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      St Austell
      Posts
      113
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      noisy line causing broadband issues

      hi

      i have posted before on the broadband forum about my problem with my broadband before.

      I should be able to get 8 - 9meg download speed but im unable to because of the poor wiring in my house.

      the phone line crackles and sometimes you can't hear what people are saying when on the phone too them.

      I don't have a clue where my master socket is so im stuck using my 1 or 3 extension sockets.

      I was wondering if I phone sky talk if they would arrange to get an engineer out and sort this issues out once and for all.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: noisy line causing broadband issues

      You need to trace the master socket, it is usually quite easy to do, just follow the main BT cable that comes into the house, the first one it goes to should be the master socket.

      You then need to remove the front face and get your stats from the TEST socket beneath if you have one, you should also test your phone from this point, if it still crackles then you have a line fault that will require BT to sort.

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-master.html

      You could get BT to call out but if the problem is your wiring inside the house you could see a bill of over 100.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: noisy line causing broadband issues

      Smiley had a long thread on this earlier in the year. I did think he had got it sorted out then.
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-b...se-margin.html

      I thought the master socket had been traced to the loft and was not very accessible.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      smiley rulez's Avatar
      smiley rulez is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Austell
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      St Austell
      Posts
      113
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: noisy line causing broadband issues

      i've been in the loft and could find the master socket.

      i did find a plastic black oval with ashley on it?

      their was a white wire going in one end and a grey coming out the other.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: noisy line causing broadband issues

      i did find a plastic black oval with ashley on it?
      Ashley are a big company that manufacture all sorts of electrical junction boxes, they probably do telephone ones too. Make sure it is the telephone cable and not a power one, if it is, see if you can trace it to your phone sockets downstairs. The one it is connected to should be your master.

      Have a look inside your sockets and see if there is one with a capacitor, this will be the Master. I can't remember if I asked you to do this before.

      If BTO send out an engineer to fix your internal wiring you could be looking at a large bill.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      smiley rulez's Avatar
      smiley rulez is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Austell
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      St Austell
      Posts
      113
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: noisy line causing broadband issues

      it doesn't look like it has anything to do with the telephone wires and no i can't find any sockets with capacitors in them which makes this even more confusing.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: noisy line causing broadband issues

      If your phone line comes in overhead, the master is probably hidden in the loft as you first suggested. If you can't find it, all you can do is find the first one on the chain where the cable comes down from the loft and consider this to be the master. For the best result you could replace its faceplate with a filtered one like this - XTF-68/85 - Pre-filtered Telephone Socket - ADSL Nation

      This is the same as a filtered faceplate for the master socket, except it is designed for an extension socket.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      smiley rulez's Avatar
      smiley rulez is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Austell
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      St Austell
      Posts
      113
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: noisy line causing broadband issues

      here are my stats from the socket upstairs (in the bedroom)

      although the noise margin is low the connection holds up better compared to when the router is downstairs.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails noisy line causing broadband issues-untitled.jpg  

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION