Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Big problems with phone line/broadband

    This is a discussion on Big problems with phone line/broadband within the Sky Talk forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Microfilter is first thing into the mains, then it's the broadband and the phone line. The phone doesn't work if ...

    1. #1
      neil.l's Avatar
      neil.l is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Big problems with phone line/broadband

      Microfilter is first thing into the mains, then it's the broadband and the phone line.

      The phone doesn't work if the broadband is on and vice versa.

      Even when the phone works it's getting a lot of crackle (tested on 3 phones).

      The only way to gauruntee to make a call is to plug the phone straight into the wall which will result in after about 5 minutes a noise similar to a fire alarm coming down the line making the call pointless.

      Broadband will randomly cut out and it will take me to the router log in page when I'm trying to load a page.

      Is anyone else experiencing this sort of thing?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Big problems with phone line/broadband

      To confirm, this noise is still present with numerous handsets tried directly into the test socket (behind the master socket faceplate)? If so, then call your line provider and report the fault.

    4. #3
      neil.l's Avatar
      neil.l is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Big problems with phone line/broadband

      Well I've been trying to phone Sky for a few nights, they put you on hold for 20 minutes and within this time this noise starts happening rendering the call pointless.

      We're going to use someone elses phone line tomorrow and ask them to check our lines as something is definitely wrong here, had Sky for about 4 months now and this problem started about 3 weeks ago.

    5. #4
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Big problems with phone line/broadband

      Call through to a less busy department on 08442410515 and when you get through advise them of the issue. They should be able to call you back on a mobile and then transfer you through to the correct dept. who can diagnose where the issue lies.

    6. #5
      neil.l's Avatar
      neil.l is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Big problems with phone line/broadband

      Thanks I'll give that a bash.

    7. #6
      ASUNAMA's Avatar
      ASUNAMA is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SW6
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Big problems with phone line/broadband

      My broadband works but my phone does not, I have changed the master plate and the filter. If I plug in the phone these is no dial tone, if i unplug the router there is a dial tone. Any ideas

    8. #7
      spud_gun's Avatar
      spud_gun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Big problems with phone line/broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by ASUNAMA View Post
      My broadband works but my phone does not, I have changed the master plate and the filter. If I plug in the phone these is no dial tone, if i unplug the router there is a dial tone. Any ideas
      High/open resistance fault
      Speak to tech 08442411736 <-SVBN tech as far as I was told mention you think its a high resistance fault, they'll tell you to get non-sky M/F's and then reimburse you for the cost, it does happen but that's the only way to fix it

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION