Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Problems since moving to Sky's "New Network"

    This is a discussion on Problems since moving to Sky's "New Network" within the Sky Talk forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Since switching to Sky's "New Network" fully unbundled service the problems I have had: 1. All incoming calls going to ...

    1. #1
      Mr Zippy's Avatar
      Mr Zippy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDFAV
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Problems since moving to Sky's "New Network"

      Since switching to Sky's "New Network" fully unbundled service the problems I have had:

      1. All incoming calls going to voicemail
      2. Outgoing calls to cycling note sound
      3. Calls to voicemail engaged
      4. Caller display intermittent
      5. Incoming callers cannot hear you

      Points 1,2,3 were logged as a fault and resolved within hours.
      Points 5,6 still happen.

      I am thinking there are software issues with their new equipment.

      Anyone else have problems?

      On a positive note my broadband speed has almost doubled from 8480 to 13810 sync rate.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Cambo -_-'s Avatar
      Cambo -_- is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maindee (SWMDE)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102 Piggybacking D-Link DIR-615
      Sky TV: Sky+HD DRX890
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      Newport - South Wales
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems since moving to Sky's "New Network"

      Quote Originally Posted by Mr Zippy View Post
      Since switching to Sky's "New Network" fully unbundled service the problems I have had:

      1. All incoming calls going to voicemail
      2. Outgoing calls to cycling note sound
      3. Calls to voicemail engaged
      4. Caller display intermittent
      5. Incoming callers cannot hear you

      Points 1,2,3 were logged as a fault and resolved within hours.
      Points 5,6 still happen.

      I am thinking there are software issues with their new equipment.

      Anyone else have problems?

      On a positive note my broadband speed has almost doubled from 8480 to 13810 sync rate.

      My call Caller display is no longer working & Broadband speed as dropped from 18976 Kbps to 10237 kbps


      (ADSL+2) -//- (Fiber Unlimited)
      Connection Speed 17628 kbps 1023 kbps -//- 39998 kbps 9995 kbps
      Line Attenuation 22.0 db 11.4 db -//- 18.8 dB 0.0 dB
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 7.7 db -//- 28.7 dB 15.15 dB

    4. #3
      rhonddapaul's Avatar
      rhonddapaul is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01443
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      South Wales Valleys, UK
      Posts
      77
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems since moving to Sky's "New Network"

      I was transferred onto Sky's 'new' network last Wednesday. I lost my voicemail and caller display completely. They went back on a week later.

      However, I have noticed that unless I dial 1571, I don't know if I have any messages (where as before, the line tone changed).

      I thought my broadband may speed up from 8.1meg but it's stayed exactly the same

    5. #4
      Mr Zippy's Avatar
      Mr Zippy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDFAV
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems since moving to Sky's "New Network"

      I think I might give my issues a while then...

      Think they must be having teething issues with this change.

    6. #5
      Mr Zippy's Avatar
      Mr Zippy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDFAV
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems since moving to Sky's "New Network"

      Quote Originally Posted by rhonddapaul View Post
      I was transferred onto Sky's 'new' network last Wednesday. I lost my voicemail and caller display completely. They went back on a week later.

      However, I have noticed that unless I dial 1571, I don't know if I have any messages (where as before, the line tone changed).

      I thought my broadband may speed up from 8.1meg but it's stayed exactly the same
      The change seems to have activated DLM on my line, so speeds went up slowly over several days. So I would be patient.

    7. #6
      Mr Zippy's Avatar
      Mr Zippy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDFAV
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems since moving to Sky's "New Network"

      See this thread to collate issues.

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-t...telephone.html

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION