Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 26

    Problems with Sky telephone

    This is a discussion on Problems with Sky telephone within the Sky Talk forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Does anyone know if Sky use VOIP for there phone system after the BT copper pair to the exchange .....I ...

    1. #11
      fifepc's Avatar
      fifepc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lemington (NEL)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sky telephone

      Does anyone know if Sky use VOIP for there phone system after the BT copper pair to the exchange .....I can not see them having a network of there own.... this would explain the echo on the line


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      pooh_bear138's Avatar
      pooh_bear138 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSLAR Largs
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sky telephone

      I am so glad someone has posted about this. I am going demented with the quality of the line since being switched over to LLU phone network on 5th October:

      • distortion of my own voice echoing back to me
      • distortion on the incoming call (hold music is especially bad)
      • incoming callers complaining their voice echoes back
      • callers receive recorded Sky line fault message and can't get through
      • callers say there is a delay before the line connects and starts to ring out


      I have said I want to go back to the previous network arrangements but despite the letter saying you could opt out before, they are now refusing.

      Every time I phone they want to do a line test when it is so obvious that the configuration or characteristics of their system is at fault.

      I feel I am going to have to tell them the line qualityh is not within the terms of their contract and will have to go back to BT since you cannot go to another phone provider from LLU.

      Dreadful!

    4. #13
      Heinz's Avatar
      Heinz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EAELC
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky - only the (expensive) 'connect' available in my area.
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Entertainment+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      300
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sky telephone

      Quote Originally Posted by fifepc View Post
      Does anyone know if Sky use VOIP for there phone system after the BT copper pair to the exchange .....I can not see them having a network of there own.... this would explain the echo on the line
      Sky now uses BT Wholesale's WCLI (Wholesale Calls, Line Independent).

      In other words, they buy 'line time' from BTW and re-sell it. It means all Sky Talk calls are carried on the BT network.
      Want to save on your phone costs? Click HERE then.

    5. #14
      pooh_bear138's Avatar
      pooh_bear138 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSLAR Largs
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sky telephone

      I think the new SVBN (Sky Voice and Broadband Network) is a different setup. Can anyone else confirm?

    6. #15
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sky telephone

      Quote Originally Posted by pooh_bear138 View Post
      I think the new SVBN (Sky Voice and Broadband Network) is a different setup. Can anyone else confirm?
      Yes, it's Sky's own fully unbundled voice and broadband network.

    7. #16
      demonweb's Avatar
      demonweb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01698
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sky telephone

      mine changed over on 21st october i can call out but cant recive incoming calls !

      Will my Sky Talk or Sky Broadband service be disrupted during the transfer?

      Yes but not for long! For approximately 5 minutes you will have no dial tone, then for 20 minutes you will be unable to receive incoming calls. There will also be a short loss of connection on your broadband service. We will try to transfer you at night to minimise any inconvenience to you.


      they said theyll get back to me on my mobile , they did offer me free sky sports upgrade for 3 months but ill hold off for an free HD box upgrade , not to worry i move house in 2 weeks so not bothered if they dont fix it.

    8. #17
      Mr Zippy's Avatar
      Mr Zippy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDFAV
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sky telephone

      I am still having problems myself, posted in another thread before (as line failed completely at one stage)...

      Caller can't always here me, line going dead during call (other user can't here me) and intermittent caller ID.

      NEVER had these problems before switching to skys fully unbundled network.

      As they are intermittent I don't know what to do.

      Anyone had a result on this.

    9. #18
      pooh_bear138's Avatar
      pooh_bear138 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSLAR Largs
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sky telephone

      After a month of similar problems I can report:

      I had my tied-pair shifted (the connection at the exchange) last week, after I was "guaranteed" this would fix everything. Phone wasn't switched off when they said it would be so I had to chase that; then when it was supposed to come back on it didn't so I had to spend 40 minutes on another line trying to chase that. In the end the phone was out for a day and my broadband speed has halved and is static, so that is no solution.

      Now they want to send one of their own specialists out to the exchange but I am saying no because I have no confidence in this SVBN network at all. Looking at other internet sites describing virtual networks, these problems of echoes, non-connection, poor voice quality, robo-sound and dropouts seem to be inherent characteristics of a far-from-perfect technology so I don't see that delaying things with an engineer at the exchange will make any difference.

      The alternative is it will take 21-30 days to transfer me back to the previous network arrangements and my phone could be out for anything up to 7 days while the transfer takes place. Or, as I have threatened, I will simply switch back to BT myself without any loss of service as Sky are in breach of contract.

      These are obviously not isolated cases.
      Last edited by pooh_bear138; 05-11-09 at 11:35 AM.

    10. #19
      Mr Zippy's Avatar
      Mr Zippy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDFAV
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sky telephone

      I am surprised there are not more people here complaining...

      I assume software (or maybe hardware) issues with their new equipment.

      But but my broadband speed has almost doubled from 8480/896 to 13810/1118 sync.

    11. #20
      Mr Zippy's Avatar
      Mr Zippy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDFAV
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sky telephone

      I have found 3 other threads with similar content, have posted a link to this thread in all of them...

      Collation is important here to get this sorted.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION