Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Noise on the line

This is a discussion on Noise on the line within the Sky Talk forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi, I am new to the Sky BB and Talk, ever since i left BT i have had this annoying ...

sasha1911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Thanks

Noise on the line

Hi,

I am new to the Sky BB and Talk, ever since i left BT i have had this annoying SHHHHHHHHH on the line i will try and explain my set up the best i can.

Upstairs.
      1 PC
      1 Sky Netgear Router DG934G
      1 Corded telephone

Downstairs
      1 Cordless DECT phone.

All the equipment upstairs work fine, the corded phone as no noise on the line at all, downstairs on the cordless a constant SHHHHHHH noise, i have turned the wireless access point of on the router to check for the wireless interference but still noisy, only solution is to turn off the router or unplug the line going into it, i have a BT iPlate and new filters all round and i have tried the master socket still noisy.

Is it a dodgy router?

thanks in advance for any help.

2. Advertisement
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Thanks
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

Re: Noise on the line

Do you have ADSL filters plugged in first into the sockets in use? If you have a Sky digi box plugged in, is it running through a filter?
      Try plugging another filter into the first filter then plug in your Dect phone, so that it is running through 2 filters.
      If you have any other filters, try them. The filters supplied by Sky are not always very efficient.

TomD