Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Joining Sky Talk?

    This is a discussion on Joining Sky Talk? within the Sky Talk forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Can someone tell me if you have have to have Sky TV to use the Sky Talk Line Rental Package? ...

    1. #1
      That Guy's Avatar
      That Guy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01983
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Joining Sky Talk?

      Can someone tell me if you have have to have Sky TV to use the Sky Talk Line Rental Package?

      I was looking at getting Sky Talk and Broadband. But don't want the TV is this possible?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Joining Sky Talk?

      No you don't have to have Sky TV.

    4. #3
      That Guy's Avatar
      That Guy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01983
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Joining Sky Talk?

      That sucks.

      Im not paying over 100 for the Install and setup charges to have the TV. Its well overpriced considering I already have dish and socket.

    5. #4
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,373
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Joining Sky Talk?

      Quote Originally Posted by That Guy View Post
      Can someone tell me if you have have to have Sky TV to use the Sky Talk Line Rental Package?

      I was looking at getting Sky Talk and Broadband. But don't want the TV is this possible?

      Thanks
      You don't need sky TV to get sky talk, but if you are wanting sky broadband then you have to have a TV package, as the broadband is only available with TV.

    6. #5
      That Guy's Avatar
      That Guy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01983
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Joining Sky Talk?

      Quote Originally Posted by Andy17 View Post
      You don't need sky TV to get sky talk, but if you are wanting sky broadband then you have to have a TV package, as the broadband is only available with TV.
      How can I choose just the sky Talk? As when I choose it on the sky site and click next it wants me to choose a tv package?

    7. #6
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,373
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Joining Sky Talk?

      Quote Originally Posted by That Guy View Post
      How can I choose just the sky Talk? As when I choose it on the sky site and click next it wants me to choose a tv package?
      Well in that case then you have to have sky TV, I was not too sure myself it was one or the other.

    8. #7
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Joining Sky Talk?

      Quote Originally Posted by That Guy View Post
      That sucks.

      Im not paying over 100 for the Install and setup charges to have the TV. Its well overpriced considering I already have dish and socket.
      Read my post, I said "NO" you don't have to have Sky TV.

      Order over the phone. I repeat, you DO NOT have to take Sky TV to get Sky Talk, Line Rental or their Broadband service.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Joining Sky Talk?

      From Sky Talk T & Cs

      Can I receive Sky Talk?

      To receive Sky Talk, you must have an active Sky digital subscription ("Sky TV") under a Sky TV subscription contract and a Sky or BT compatible phone line. If your Sky TV Contract ends or is suspended, Sky Talk may be automatically ended/suspended too (see Condition 7.3).

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Joining Sky Talk?

      That's funny because I personally know a couple of people, including my parents who have Sky Talk and Broadband without an active Sky TV subscription. How does that work then

      I guess the easy answer is for the OP to actually call Sky and ask, and looking further at their website it looks like I'm probably mistaken.

    11. #10
      return2base's Avatar
      return2base is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Joining Sky Talk?

      Don't join Sky Talk. If you are not contracted here, keep away.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION