Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    SKY Talk caller display/1571

    This is a discussion on SKY Talk caller display/1571 within the Sky Talk forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi can any one help with some information I just ordered sky talk 15th April but still paying BT for ...

    1. #1
      tridens's Avatar
      tridens is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eagor
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      SKY Talk caller display/1571

      Hi can any one help with some information

      I just ordered sky talk 15th April but still paying BT for Line rental

      1 can i cancell order before it goes live
      2 will caller display work on sky phone /sky said no
      3 will i get 1571 sky said they dont provide this i have to talk to BT

      it dosent seem a good service if you cant get basic caller options
      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

    4. #3
      sdd's Avatar
      sdd
      sdd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01268
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      289
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: SKY Talk caller display/1571

      1 yes
      2 yes
      3 yes

      only if you are paying sky line rental will you get 2-3.


      Nobody is Perfect.....I am Nobody....Therefore I am Perfect

    5. #4
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: SKY Talk caller display/1571

      I think I'm right in saying that the caller display etc will continue to be free from BT providing you make 1 or 2 calls per month via the BT system. You can overide Sky by keying 1280 before you dial your number. If you dont do this then BT will charge you for use of the service. It's cheaper to make a couple of local calls via BT rather than pay for the caller display and answerphone service. As previously stated the other option is to transfere the whole lot to Sky but that can create problems of it's own. i.e. If you have any faults with your line BT wont be interested! all fault calls would have to be logged through Sky which can slow the whole process down.

    6. #5
      tridens's Avatar
      tridens is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eagor
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY Talk caller display/1571

      Thanks for the info
      I have to keep line rental with bt for 12 months i prefer to do that so i can over ride sky by dialing 1280 and make a few calls

    7. #6
      tridens's Avatar
      tridens is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eagor
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY Talk caller display/1571

      Hi i was reading different forums is it true sky don't let you use override numbers 1280 dosent work if i wanted to make a call on bt or other companys

    8. #7
      manrow's Avatar
      manrow is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY Talk caller display/1571

      I am still using 18185 override even though I now pay Sky for my line rental. I can still dial 1280 as well and still connect with 18185? It is the same either way.

    9. #8
      GSMGuy's Avatar
      GSMGuy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: HD+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      526
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY Talk caller display/1571

      AFAIK, If you have Sky Line Rental, the BT override codes DO NOT work.....

      Mike

    10. #9
      Heinz's Avatar
      Heinz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EAELC
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky - only the (expensive) 'connect' available in my area.
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Entertainment+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      300
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY Talk caller display/1571

      Quote Originally Posted by manrow View Post
      I am still using 18185 override even though I now pay Sky for my line rental. I can still dial 1280 as well and still connect with 18185? It is the same either way.
      Of course you can still dial 1280 (Sky haven't yet started sending heavies round to physically stop you), it's a question of what happens when you do.

      I assume you have used the 1280 prefix in an attempt to make some inclusive weekend calls on BT so as to 'qualify' for free Caller Display and/or basic 1571. I think you'll find you failed because Sky have changed to the new BT Wholesale WCLI (Wholesale Calls, Line Independent) offering and that means that all Sky Talk calls are carried on the BT network. Hence, dialling 1280 to send an individual call via BT will have no effect - because the call is already on the BT network!

      OTOH, 18185 still works because it's a prefix which causes an individual call to leave the BT network.
      Want to save on your phone costs? Click HERE then.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION