Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Skytalk 1571 problem

    This is a discussion on Skytalk 1571 problem within the Sky Talk forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Ok, Newbie on here & hoping for help. Here's the Story. In July 2008 I moved from Gloucestershire to Shropshire. ...

    1. #1
      Martinc's Avatar
      Martinc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01952
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Skytalk 1571 problem

      Ok, Newbie on here & hoping for help.

      Here's the Story.

      In July 2008 I moved from Gloucestershire to Shropshire. Talktalk was my ISP & Phone provider. Before moving I discussed my requirements with talktalk & was assured that I could still get "free" broadband & phone at my new address.
      Shortly after moving I found they lied & would charge me for Broadband. So, after an offer from Sky I switched everthing to them.
      Now the story begins.
      After everything was activated in August I requested that 1571 voice mail was activated as it was part of my package. I was told it would take 72 hours. 7 Months later I am STILL waiting for it to be activated.
      I have spent HOURS on the phone with them, been promised callbacks with a result yet none have been received. Had customer service reps "accidently" disconnect me when they have read the notes on my account.
      Finally I thought my luck had changed when I spoke with a Scotish lady called "Elaine", She DID return calls & informed me that there was a Tag on my line from talktalk. So, I called talktalk & spent 30 mins on the phone with a very helpful guy who ran all sorts of checks & insisted that they had NOTHING on my line. The following day I received a call from Elaine of Skytalk & I relayed my conversation with talktalk to her. She told me that her Boss knew someone at BT that owed him a favour & that he would get some answers for me. That was at the end of January, since then I have heard NOTHING.
      Once again I have made many calls only to be told the same thing that it's an IT problem but no one will help me to resolve it. One part of skytalk shows 1571 as active but the IT side shows it blocked.

      Any ideas/help? I thought talktalk were bad but THIS beggars belief.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Skytalk 1571 problem

      Martinc
      Hi here`s a telephone number it Sky`s Customer Relation 02077053000 they are very good get through to receptionist ask for Customer Relations and then explain to them they should be able to help

    4. #3
      Martinc's Avatar
      Martinc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01952
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Skytalk 1571 problem

      Thanks Steve. I actually have a weekend off so will give them a call tomorrow (sat)

    5. #4
      Quik0706's Avatar
      Quik0706 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT23
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      Northern Ireland
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Skytalk 1571 problem

      This is similar to the problem we currently have.

      I phoned up early in Feb to activate 1571, caller display etc and it still hasnt been activated. We do have a voicemail atm but we are almost sure it is still TalkTalk's. I have been on the phone several times and it has been relayed to their IT department, and like you said we have never got the calls back we were promised.

    6. #5
      sdd's Avatar
      sdd
      sdd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01268
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      289
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Skytalk 1571 problem

      Hi do you pay sky for your line rental?

      i was told if you pay your line rental to BT you can't get 1571 and if you wanted it you had to pay BT.


      Nobody is Perfect.....I am Nobody....Therefore I am Perfect

    7. #6
      Heinz's Avatar
      Heinz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EAELC
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky - only the (expensive) 'connect' available in my area.
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Entertainment+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      300
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Skytalk 1571 problem

      Whilst sympathising with you for the seemingly insurmountable problems you've been having, on behalf of your friends and family Martinc, I'd just like to say how pleased I am you don't have 1571 (see HERE).
      Want to save on your phone costs? Click HERE then.

    8. #7
      Martinc's Avatar
      Martinc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01952
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Skytalk 1571 problem

      Quote Originally Posted by sdd View Post
      Hi do you pay sky for your line rental?

      i was told if you pay your line rental to BT you can't get 1571 and if you wanted it you had to pay BT.
      I pay Sky for my line rental.

    9. #8
      Martinc's Avatar
      Martinc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01952
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Skytalk 1571 problem

      Ok, As Steve suggested I called the Customer Relations & after being on hold for 20 mins was told by "Laura" that the team that deals with problems like mine does not work on weekends It took her at least 5 mins to read through all of the notes on my account. She has now promised to investigate the problem & call me back. (I have heard that one before). So, I now wait in eagar anticipation for the call.

    10. #9
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Skytalk 1571 problem

      Martinc
      The difference with the number you rang is it is monitored so they have to ring you back
      sorry about not knowing that they did not work weekends. usually it take a couple of minutes to get through. The receptionist must have tried to find someone to look at your problem.
      She has now promised to investigate the problem & call me back. (I have heard that one before). So, I now wait in eagar anticipation for the call.

    11. #10
      Martinc's Avatar
      Martinc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01952
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Skytalk 1571 problem

      I DID get a call back from someone else who said that Laura would call me today (Sun). The guy mentioned something about BT having a Tag on the line, NO idea how that would have happened as I have NEVER used BT. Hopefully I will get more info today.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION