Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 21

    Changing line rental to sky

    This is a discussion on Changing line rental to sky within the Sky Talk forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Thanks guys for all the info Its been good reading i suppose what the trouble is if the providers moan ...

    1. #11
      sdd's Avatar
      sdd
      sdd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01268
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      289
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Changing line rental to sky

      Thanks guys for all the info

      Its been good reading i suppose what the trouble is if the providers moan to much to BT then BT might be even more of a pain and stop them using there services

      A bit like Sky vs Virginmeadia

      I think i will stick with BT for now until Sky is a bit more stable i do have Sky Talk its just the line rental and maintains i was worried about.
      thanks again guys for you help
      Steve


      Nobody is Perfect.....I am Nobody....Therefore I am Perfect


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Changing line rental to sky

      If you have sky max, mid or base at an exchange therefore it`s a sky line and sky engineers would look after those lines bb and sky talk.

    4. #13
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Changing line rental to sky

      No matter who you pay your line rental to it is Openreach who look after the lines (and exchange equipment) The problem with paying line rental to Sky, is convincing Sky that you have a problem that requires Openreach attention.
      A broadband problem is delt with by your ISP (say Sky) and it is their call wether to involve Openreach or not.
      If you pay line rental to BT and you have a telephony problem, then they involve Openreach.
      If you pay your line rental to Sky and have a telephony problem then they decide wether to involve Openreach or not.

      My question is if you have a telephony problem (like a dead line for instance) would you like to have to deal with a Sky call centre?

    5. #14
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Changing line rental to sky

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      My question is if you have a telephony problem (like a dead line for instance) would you like to have to deal with a Sky call centre?
      No

      That's my point entierly, thanks for asking

    6. #15
      Heinz's Avatar
      Heinz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EAELC
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky - only the (expensive) 'connect' available in my area.
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Entertainment+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      300
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Changing line rental to sky

      Quote Originally Posted by steve16751 View Post
      If you have sky max, mid or base at an exchange therefore it`s a sky line and sky engineers would look after those lines bb and sky talk.
      Sky personnel can work on Sky's own LLU cabinets at exchanges - but only at exchanges.

      Openreach personnel are the only ones allowed to touch the telephone network outside of the exchanges.
      Want to save on your phone costs? Click HERE then.

    7. #16
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Changing line rental to sky

      Quote Originally Posted by Heinz View Post
      Sky personnel can work on Sky's own LLU cabinets at exchanges - but only at exchanges.
      How do they get in? Ours is like Fort Knox, I cannot see BT allowing access without them being there.

    8. #17
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Changing line rental to sky

      Brian69
      If I had a dead line I would ring sky`s customer relations on 02077053000 not never ever A call centre for a serious situation. Then when everything is resolved they will ring to ask is there anything else they can assist you with. So if you have to ring for an on going situation,
      Ring them first and they will ask you if you would like someone to ring you or wait to speak to cst where you mention that you have been talking customer relations and they said you are the best person to assist with this minor hitch

    9. #18
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Changing line rental to sky

      You are of course entitled to obtain your telephone service from whom ever you wish, as is eveyone else, and as am I

    10. #19
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Changing line rental to sky

      Hi Brian
      The only reason I moved to sky talk was I was on the phone to sky lot for various reasons I
      thought I would try to save some money. You know you are right we all have a choice I think that is where it stated with Steve (do I or don`t I) anyway thanks for all info

    11. #20
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Changing line rental to sky

      Quote Originally Posted by steve16751 View Post
      Hi Brian
      The only reason I moved to sky talk was I was on the phone to sky lot for various reasons I
      thought I would try to save some money. You know you are right we all have a choice I think that is where it stated with Steve (do I or don`t I) anyway thanks for all info
      I am also on Sky Talk, the issue here is not that service but the line rental which Brian and I prefer to keep with BT.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION