Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 49

    1280 to no longer work even if you pay BT for line rental

    This is a discussion on 1280 to no longer work even if you pay BT for line rental within the Sky Talk forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; BT have announced that customers who use some suppliers for their calls will no longer be able to use 1280 ...

    1. #1
      acdeag's Avatar
      acdeag is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      1280 to no longer work even if you pay BT for line rental

      BT have announced that customers who use some suppliers for their calls will no longer be able to use 1280 to route calls through BT in order to get free BT Answer/BT Privacy.

      The only supplier to be named so far is Sky (look in FAQs).

      Changes for customers using 1280 | BT.com

      Rang BT and moved my calls back to them, means I am also not stuck paying a fortune to Sky for 0845/0870 calls.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,368
      Thanks
      389
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: 1280 to no longer work even if you pay BT for line rental

      Looks like yet another ploy by BT to "persuade" people not to switch to other providers!
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    4. #3
      acdeag's Avatar
      acdeag is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 1280 to no longer work even if you pay BT for line rental

      Quote Originally Posted by speedyrite View Post
      Looks like yet another ploy by BT to "persuade" people not to switch to other providers!
      This service would have been offered to Sky by Openreach who operate independently from BT Retail. I agree that it looks a bit shady, especially as there is no obligation to inform the consumer, you would have thought that the dialler would at least receive a tone if they tried 1280.

    5. #4
      rap's Avatar
      rap
      rap is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Swindon
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 1280 to no longer work even if you pay BT for line rental

      Also read this today, so I think I will dump BT line rental and move to Sky as they don't charge vat and you still have 1471/1571 foc, then sign up with 18185.co.uk to override 0845/0870 numbers which seem to be half the price of Sky.

    6. #5
      acdeag's Avatar
      acdeag is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 1280 to no longer work even if you pay BT for line rental

      Quote Originally Posted by rap View Post
      Also read this today, so I think I will dump BT line rental and move to Sky as they don't charge vat and you still have 1471/1571 foc, then sign up with 18185.co.uk to override 0845/0870 numbers which seem to be half the price of Sky.
      They do charge VAT, they just charge 50p less for line rental.

      Bear in mind that once your line rental is with Sky you will not be able to change broadband supplier without a break in your broadband service as your line will not show as a BT line.

      You may be better off with Join Primus Saver for Cheap Landline Calls to UK Local, National & International Numbers., they have said they will not be following Sky (for the moment at least).

    7. #6
      rap's Avatar
      rap
      rap is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Swindon
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 1280 to no longer work even if you pay BT for line rental

      Quote Originally Posted by acdeag View Post
      They do charge VAT, they just charge 50p less for line rental.

      Bear in mind that once your line rental is with Sky you will not be able to change broadband supplier without a break in your broadband service as your line will not show as a BT line.

      You may be better off with Join Primus Saver for Cheap Landline Calls to UK Local, National & International Numbers., they have said they will not be following Sky (for the moment at least).
      Hi,

      Cheers for your comment, this made me re check and having looked at my last BT bill they add vat to the bill which includes the line rental, Sky don't add vat,(also confirmed via Sky when I upgraded to HD) line rental Sky 10 BT 10.50 + vat, I have Sky Talk so get most of my calls FOC and I have Sky BB, fair shout if I want to change BB service but coming from AOL and being with Sky for over year on max I don't think I will be changing just yet but will bear this in mind.
      Last edited by rap; 09-08-08 at 07:44 PM.

    8. #7
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: 1280 to no longer work even if you pay BT for line rental

      Do you really want to deal with a sky call centre if you phone line goes down just to save 50p+vat?

    9. #8
      rap's Avatar
      rap
      rap is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Swindon
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 1280 to no longer work even if you pay BT for line rental

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      Do you really want to deal with a sky call centre if you phone line goes down just to save 50p+vat?
      Sorry I'm not sure what you mean, as I said above BT charge 10.50 + vat which is total 12.34 and Sky 10 that's it, so will save 2.34 per month !!

    10. #9
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: 1280 to no longer work even if you pay BT for line rental

      I ment, do you want to have to deal with a sky call centre if you have a line fault? You will no longer be a BT customer, so any phone faults would have to go through Sky

    11. #10
      rap's Avatar
      rap
      rap is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Swindon
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 1280 to no longer work even if you pay BT for line rental

      I think its worth the gamble, as I have lived in my house for over 14 years with no line problems, but should one come on long I will have to take the hit !!! and call them from my mobile.

     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION